Skip to content

What I’ve learned about bargain shopping (Part One)…

August 12, 2008

Since May of this year, I’ve really been interesting in learning how to save more on groceries and house supplies.  It seemed like every time I was going to Walmart for “supplies” (toothpaste, TP, shampoo, diapers, etc) I was dropping $100 at least.  With feeding a growing family and trying to live in Florida on one income, many areas in our lives needed tweaking.

Many still need tweaking, but there are a few things I’ve learned.

1. Walmart is not the end-all to bargain shopping.  I used to think that I was doing well by buying all the generics at Walmart of whatever I needed.  Granted, Walmart has GREAT deals on things.  But their prices, with only a few exceptions, always stay the same.  Not really any great “sales” on things or Buy One, Get One items.  What you see is what you pay… always.  🙂

2.  Saving money requires ALOT of time and effort, but it is worth it.  Even if I have to spend an extra two hours a week searching the circular ads and buying only loss-leaders (we’ll talk about that later), if I shave off $50 from my weekly expenses, I’m GETTING PAID $25 an hour.  I think that’s a pretty good salary.

3.  I’ve had so much fun over the last few months and have learned so much.  I get a thrill from saving so much money.  My husband is also excited about saving money.

Anyway, I’ll talk more in the next post about shopping grocery sales/loss leaders, etc.  Probably in the last post I’ll spend more time on couponing.  

For those brand new to bargain shopping, I would recommend going to moneysavingmom.com and listening to her two free podcasts, where she explains alot of the above concepts in-depth.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

