Skip to content

Playing with Photoshop

April 19, 2010

I’ve had Photoshop CS4 now for about two months.  I do some work for the church which required me to have InDesign installed on my computer.  The CS package came with Photoshop, so I was super-excited to maybe expand my horizons.

Photoshop has so many possibilities and I’m sure my needs for it are very minimal.  I’m not going to be designing magazine covers or anything, but I love being creative and wanted to make photos caught with my pitiful little point-and-shoot camera a bit better.  Here’s this week’s sample project… I started off simple, guys, so…

Here’s the before… a lovely picture of Joshua.  His head is chopped off a bit on the original, but I love the way his eyes looked.  He is in the center of the photo which I’m learning is a bad no-no.

Here’s the after…

I cropped a bit off the right to keep him in the “thirds” rule.  Of course, all the saturation is taken out  (-100) to make it B & W.  I used the brush tool to bring back the color of his eyes.  His eyes are really that color of blue (although the brightness was toned down a bit).  I lassoed his image and used dark filter strokes on the background since it wasn’t all that attractive.  I didn’t really want him “floating in space” and hopefully it still looks like there is a background.  Again, I’m learning.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 4:19 pm

    Well, you know I love it. Awesome!

    • Robin permalink*
      April 19, 2010 4:32 pm

      Thanks so much, Courtney. I think your photos are BEAUTIFUL!

Leave a Reply

