Skip to content

I Was Born a Coal Miner’s Daughter…

April 29, 2010

This morning as I checked my Facebook page I saw news of a mine collapse in Western KY.  Two miners are trapped inside of a ceiling collapse at Dotiki Mines in Nebo, KY.  My thoughts and prayers go to the miners, their families, and the rescue workers.

Growing up in Western KY in the 70s & 80s, mining was all around me.  My grandfather was a strip miner and my dad was an underground miner for several years.  My dad later moved on to a different position at a mines with part of his duties being safety training for miners on MSHA regulations, etc.  Many of my friends’ dads were coal miners.  Although the prominence of mining has definitely waned over the last couple of decades, it is still a huge part of the heritage of the area and many people in the area are still employed by the mines (including my first cousin).  A possible collapse is something that’s always on the back of the minds of those who have loved ones working in the industry, perhaps similar to the heaviness that a police officer’s feels or a firefighter’s family feels.

I’m praying for a wonderful outcome for these men.  If memory serves me correctly (which it tends to fail me as I get older) my grandfather was once part of a mine collapse and made it out okay.  May God’s peace be with these families and miners.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 9:05 am

    I was very sad to learn about this as well. I, too, come from a coal mining family. Praying for a happy ending.

  2. karen long permalink
    April 30, 2010 6:39 am

    I am also product of the coal mines..My mom was born in West Virginia , and when she and my dad were first married they lived up there.. my dad worked the coal mines for years with my uncles.. my mom comes from a family of 12.. one of her brothers died in the coal mines at the age of 18. So when I say that I am old school, I am.. I love the old country ways.. gardens (although I have a black thumb) I admire those who can grow their own crop, a nice glass of sweet tea and a front porch swing.. that in my mind is the closest thing to heaven on this side of the earth..
    Really enjoy having you in class.. and getting to know you better..See ya at church

Leave a Reply

