Skip to content

Why I Homeschool…

May 12, 2010

I was recently asked “why do you home school?”   Now, we are a BRAND NEW formally homeschooling family.  My oldest is just in kindergarten, so I am in NO WAY an expert on the field.  This is just my opinion only on the subject.  And I can’t say that we will homeschool forever… it’s just what works for our family at the current time.

I had first been exposed to homeschooling when my oldest son was very  young.  I knew of other families who did it and who really seemed to be thriving.  The kids were happy, well-mannered, and spoke very easily to people of all ages.  But I didn’t see it as something that I could do.  Robin… who sometimes gets very impatient with my kids, who is an introvert who needs quiet and who has a VERY, VERY extroverted older son who NEEDS to talk, talk, talk.  I doubted my ability to do such a thing.  24/7 with my children for who knows how long!  I figured the parents who did it were somehow gifted with extra patience, spent their free time reading the classics, and churned their own butter.  I’m a mom who loves to experiment in the kitchen, but OFTEN resorts to Kraft Macaroni and Cheese, Spaghettios, and (gasp) McDonald’s when my motivation just isn’t there.

Over the years I became familiar with more and more families who homeschooled.  At four years old, my son was enrolled in the FL Voluntary Pre-K program in 2007-2008 at a local Christian school and LOVED it.  It’s a free program for 3 hours a day.  The next logical step was kindergarten, but after speaking to his teacher and evaluating his maturity (he has an August 10th birthday and is right on the cutoff, so he would have been a young kindergartner), we decided to postpone kindergarten for another year. We had already been weighing out different decisions; continuing in a private Christian school wasn’t an option financially.  We had a great public school up the road, but I really felt torn about sending him there.  I didn’t feel a peace about it in my heart. With an extra year, he could grow a little more and we had more time to make a choice.

Time went on, we had another baby (our third) and I was thankful that we had a year to kind of mesh together as a family of five and put off school for a while.  Then came Spring 2009 and it was time to make a decision.  I registered Nathan with the public school up the road and decided that it was what we were going to have to do.  I prayed and prayed that if this is where God wanted him that he would stay strong in his young faith and that he would grow in that school.  But as the months passed and summer was drawing to a close, I began to wrestle inside with the decision that we had made.  I didn’t feel a peace about it.  After talking it over with my husband and praying, praying, praying, we finally made a decision to homeschool for the 2009-2010 school year.

Gulp.

Now in addition to being a wife, mother of three, and homemaker, I now had “teacher” added to my job description.  But I must say, I felt a huge amount of peace after that decision.  I researched curricula and decided what course we were going to take.  I had the freedom to include Bible in our lessons.  I must say, though, the responsibility feels huge.  But with God’s help, it is happening.

Now, confession time: there is at least ONE point in the day I feel like calling the public school.  No lie.  I am not a super woman.  I am imperfect.  I do not have an unusual amount of patience.  But I do love my sons and daughter.  And I do want to be obedient to God and what he has called ME to do.  Is this for everyone?  No.  I don’t even pretend to think that we are better than anyone else for choosing this.  I believe God has different plans for different families and that children in the public school setting or Christian school setting can learn and thrive too.  But this is, I believe, His will for us.  When I am walking in His will, He does give me strength and patience to handle each day.  Do we have bad days?  Absolutely.  But I can honestly say this school year has brought me closer to my kids.   My kids are close to each other and are each other’s best friend.  I’m excited for next year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 10:45 am

    What a great post, Robin! Keegan is entering a Jumpstart Program with a Church here this Fall and then comes kindergarten for us. I’m pretty nervous about it and have already started praying.

    • Robin permalink*
      May 12, 2010 10:51 am

      Thanks, Courtney! Our Ashlyn is doing the preschool thing this fall at a Christian school, then kindergarten for her in 2011. Where does the time go??? It all goes SO quickly!

  2. karen long permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:53 pm

    I am very impressed.. You are stepping out and doing what you wasnt sure you could or want to do, but you are stepping out on Faith, and God will bless you for that, You made a selfless decision , and that is awesome.. You go girl.. Enjoy every moment of it.. coming from a mom who has 2 grown children out on their own, and a 14 year old that thinks he is 20.. time goes by way toooooo quick.. So treasure this time..

    • Robin permalink*
      May 17, 2010 1:42 pm

      Thanks, Karen! Yes, it is stepping out on faith, but God is honoring that!

Leave a Reply

