Skip to content

Perfectionism and procrastination…

May 19, 2010

Yes, the two go  hand in hand… I used to think that they were opposites, but the more I find out about it, the more I realize that procrastination is a symptom of perfectionism.

Unfortunately, I suffer from both.

I could list 50 different projects in my  mind that I haven’t started yet, mainly because of fear that I couldn’t do them perfectly.  I have three kids and have only completed the scrapbook of the first year of my firstborn who is now 6.5.  I want each page to be perfect and often spend about 1 hour or more on each page.  I have paperwork that needs to be filed, but I’m putting it off because I do not have the legal size file pockets that I want to have to make them look nice and neat, so that hasn’t been done.  The list could go on and on, but I don’t want to bore you with details.

It comes down to this… I avoid doing something for fear that I will fail at it.  That has been the case most my life (and something I still struggle with).  I had “secret” talents or abilities that no one knew about because I was too afraid of failing in front of others.  I didn’t realize,  however, that God had placed those desires and abilities in me.  He wants me to make a contribution, to use what He has given me, even if it isn’t perfect.  

 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.   2 Corinthians 12:9

So, for today, I choose to stay focused, to use whatever health, talents, situations that the Lord has given me and offer them to Him.  Only He can be the perfect one.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 10:22 am

    Oh, Robin – you and I are so much alike it is somewhat scary. I feel like I could have written this post myself. That verse is one of my all time favorites. Praying for you, friend.

    • Robin permalink*
      May 19, 2010 11:09 am

      🙂 Thanks Courtney… yep, and you even have the “P” word in your blog name!

      This post was written as I was thinking “I’m not sure of what to even write… at this pace, my blog is just going to become another failure. And then I surveyed the space around my computer and saw the unfiled paperwork and the unused coupons and started to get overwhelmed with those failures. Then it hit me… I really need to blog about these crazy expectations I place on myself!

  2. karen long permalink
    May 20, 2010 6:55 am

    Beautifully put..And how true.. those two do go hand and hand.. I learnt a few years ago via a marriage councilor that I am a perfectionist. And I had never thought of myself that way, cause when I thought a perfectionist is the one with EVERY thing perfect, white glove..and that is not me.. but I learnt that I am a perfectionist in my mind.. I want things done perfectly..dishes in the dishwasher lined up just right, towels folded and facing the right way..etc. but you are right.God gave you these gifts and talents to enjoy and share,, not keep them hidden away..like the parable of the man with the 1. 5 and 10 tallens.. the man with 1 buried it for safe keeping, and was not pleasing to god..
    Uncover your gifts and talents and Shine Girl..
    Love ya sista…

Trackbacks

  1. Excuses… « Playdough in My Carpet
  2. Hello? Hello? Is this thing on? (tap, tap)… « Playdough in My Carpet

Leave a Reply

