Skip to content

Sing: “OOOOOOOOklahoma…

June 2, 2010

… where the wind goes (something, something, something).”

ANYWAY… a friend of mine is also a vocalist and does musicals every now and then.  Her kids are grown and she’s been involved in several musicals over the last couple of years.  I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE musical theater and was even a musical theater major for one whole semester in college.  I chickened out and figured I couldn’t do it professionally and thought I would be doomed to a life of waitressing and other choice jobs waiting for my “break.”

I love singing, dancing, acting.  All of it.  It just makes my soul happy.  And I love (most) musicals.  With my current stage of life, though, three kids under the age of six, I figured those days were gone for a good while.

After talking with the above-mentioned friend this morning, I’ve decided to join her and another friend in auditioning for Oklahoma.  Now Oklahoma is  not my favorite musical by any means.  I think it’s quite long, like 3 hours or something.  But my heart jumped at the chance of getting back into theater.

I first needed to discuss it with my husband, though, who would be caring for the kids for about 8 weeks time, M-F evenings.  He was super-supportive and I’m so very, very blessed to have him.  I know it won’t be a very common thing to be away from my kids so much (in fact, it is often 24/7 that to be away from them sometimes is very weird) but I’m so excited at the opportunity to do something for me.

Anyway, not to get too far ahead of myself, but now the question is… what song and monologue to choose?  I think I’ll do Barbra Streisand’s “Don’t Rain on My Parade” but monologue, I’m not sure.  We’ll see.  And if I don’t get a part, it will have been fun to live that old dream just a little bit at auditions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 11:48 am

    “where the wind comes sweeping down the plain…”

    GOOD LUCK! I have no suggestions for you as far as song choice or monologue (big help, huh?) but I know you’ll do great. Keep me posted!

  2. Robin permalink*
    June 2, 2010 12:17 pm

    Ahhh, yes! Thanks for the lyric! I think for the monologue I’ll do the one from “Nuts” also starring Barbra. Not that I think I’m Barbra, but I used to use that one for auditions in high school and college! Thanks!

  3. June 8, 2010 11:03 pm

    Good luck! That’s so exciting to do something for yourself that you’re passionate about! Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

Leave a Reply

