Skip to content

Goin’ “Up North”

June 22, 2010

Okay, so here in FL, anytime you take a trip to the rest of the continental US it’s called “going up North.”  And the East Coast means Palm Beach and the West Coast doesn’t mean California… it’s Tampa.  The panhandle is “the redneck riviera.”  🙂

Anyway, I’m going to visit family in KY before we head to a convention in Anderson, IN for our denomination.  I thought I’d post a few things I love about KY (even though I do love my FL sunshine and beaches).

1. Seeing my parents.  I always laugh alot when I’m with them.

2. Seeing my extended family.  I have two living grandmothers, one who is healthy and one who is struggling. Every time I get to see them is a gift.

3. Fireflies… we don’t have them here in FL.  I love to get a Mason jar for my kids for them to catch them and watch them in their room at night.  Is that cruel?  What is the lifespan of a firefly?  If it’s 24 hours like a fly, then I won’t feel badly for them.  Maybe I should research it… (P.S. I just researched it… it looks like a lifespan of 2 months.  Hmmm…. lifetime memories for my kids vs. insect life).

4. Hills.  We just don’t have those in FL.  My kids think we’re on a roller coaster when we go up and down them and their bellies get tickled.  I took that for granted as a kid!  Plus, we break out the slip-and-slide when we’re there.  Can’t really slide on flat terrain!

5. Lower food prices… yep, we can go out to eat PRETTY cheaply.

6. Accents… ours has dwindled over the years since we lived in Central Indiana for 5 years, then have been here in FL for 6.  But it’s there… give me a week in KY and I’ll be saying y’all in no time!

7. Dirt.  Yes, I said dirt.  It’s brown there.  We have this grayish kind which is a mixture of sand and soil.  Nice to see good ole dirt for a while.  Plus, if you walk barefooted outside, the grass is soft on your feet whereas here in FL it’s the St. Augustine kind that sticks up like little  butterknives… not piercing but not exactly pleasant, either.

8. Leaves.  If we’re fortunate to go up during the fall, we see the leaves change, which surprisingly was the first thing I missed when we moved down here in 2003.

9. Wood subfloors and crawl spaces.  I could swear my back pain is better up there.  Here everything is a concrete slab with flooring on top of that.

10. Basements.  Because the water table is so high in FL, we don’t have these musty little joys of the house.  My kids think it’s cool to go down in the basement (ooh).  I think it’s cool for the extra storage space!

I’m sure there’s more, but it’s 6:30 am before a flight and I’m waking myself up.  I’m looking forward to a wonderful time with family and friends.  Bye y’all!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 9:59 am

    Just got back from KY. Hope y’all have a safe trip and a wonderful time!

  2. karen long permalink
    June 22, 2010 4:26 pm

    Ok you convinced me.. I will go with you …My family history is West Virginia and Georgia, even though I was borned and raise here is Fl,, seeing all those things you talked about every summer as a kid visiting grand parent, taught me to love it too..
    so like i said.. you talked me into it.. I will go with you..lol..
    Have a great time,,,but take lots of pictures to share when you get home..

    • Robin permalink*
      June 23, 2010 9:05 am

      Ha, ha… it is nice to be up here. Things aren’t nearly as congested, farms everywhere. I do love my FL, but being up here takes me back!

  3. July 15, 2010 6:09 pm

    HA! LOVE it. I totally understand you. I just got back last night from KY. It’s so weird to hear everybody talk after being away. I’m always thinking to myself, “They have to be kidding… no body really talks like that in real life… did I use to sound like that?!” I miss dirt, hills, walking in the grass, picking fresh blackberries, walking up creeks and finding waterfalls, digging in the dirt to find worms…. I saw a firefly this week and butterflies and yellow finches. 🙂 I’m glad to hear that you had a great time. Glad you’re back home and I’m glad to be back too… see you soon, friend. 🙂

    • Robin permalink*
      July 16, 2010 8:49 am

      I’m so glad you’re here in FL, but I totally understand the missing KY thing! Ha, yes, the accent becomes VERY apparent the longer you’re away! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Leave a Reply

