Skip to content

Hello? Hello? Is this thing on? (tap, tap)…

August 3, 2010

I don’t know if anyone is out there.

1.5 months since my last post has probably lost my all of two readers who checked this thing, but here I am blogging anyway!  I’m really not ambitious as far as the blogging thing to have alot of readers and such.  Mostly I just want a place to let my fingers type away while thoughts pour through them from my mind,  hoping to maybe give me a sense of release, like checking them off of a to-do list.

Life has been crazy.  We took a trip to KY/IN in late June and early July.  After we returned, I was focused on one thing… summarizing our homeschooling year into a meticulously-prepared portfolio that (1) the evaluating teacher would envy and that (2) would serve as evidence should the school board subpoena me into court to decide whether or not little Nathan was learning his 3Rs.

Why did I wait until July, do you ask?  The portfolio is due in August???  Now, a non-perfectionist, very well-balanced person would have been doing this all along the school year.  My past behavior indicates that my future responses (see my procrastination post), however, will be perfection-istic… which often results in procrastination.  So there. 🙂

Now, for a lovely catch up post…

Nathan’s evaluation went super-well.  He’s doing great in all subjects and has been cleared for takeoff into 1st Grade.  Here he is with a stack of books covered in Kindergarten.  Alot of my time now is spent planning our 1st grade adventure.

Ashlyn is beginning a pre-K program in a couple of weeks.  I know I’ll be weepy come August 18.  She’s such a sweet, sweet, FUNNY girl with alot of spunk.  I’m sure she’ll do well… it’ll be good to see how she flies “solo”… she’s always had big brother around to tell her what to do.

Joshua… my sweet-angel-of-a-child-turned-two-year-old screamer… well, he’s still a sweet angel, he just has his moments.  But so do I. 🙂  He just got his first haircut after months of me convincing my husband to postpone it “just a little bit longer.”  Underneath all those infantile curls was a little boy, ready to emerge.

He did well, he really did.  He’s two and throwing tantrums, but he’s still a cuddly, sweet little boy.  I’ll have to post more pre-cut/post-cut pics.

Okay, onto William… he had a birthday and turned 37.  I had a birthday and turned 36.  Oi.  Those ages sound so old.  I am 4 years from being 40.  BUT I will say, I weigh less than I did at 30, YIPEE!  My goal now is to weigh what I did on my wedding day, which was 12 years ago.  It’s coming off slowly, maybe due to the fact that as I type this I am chomping on a few M&Ms.  Chocolate, once it makes its way into my house, enjoys our company only briefly before it is met by my tummy,  hence why I RARELY have sweets here.  I will eat them.  And not share unless I have to.  🙂

While I was gone, I did come across this article, a tutorial for all you moms who want your bottom to instantly look smaller.  I must say I’m trying to get better at this.  Here it is at 5 minutes for parenting

There ya have it.  My first post in a while.  Now I feel better.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Miller permalink
    August 3, 2010 2:47 pm

    Hey Robin,
    Enjoyed the update….I really need to learn how to blog. I am so behind.

  2. August 3, 2010 3:17 pm

    HEY, YOU! Glad to see you back in the bloggy world. Love reading your updates. Keegan’s about to start Pre-K as well and I’m having a hard time letting go. {Sigh}

  3. August 3, 2010 10:18 pm

    Oh i love your post.. but i know how busy you are being mom to those 3 precious children of your, and wife to you husband,,
    So glad you are back, i miss ya in class, but I understand your reasoning.. there will be another time..
    Well have a great week..

Leave a Reply

