Skip to content

New “baby” in the house…

August 4, 2010

Not really.

But, I’ve been waiting months and months for my “new arrival.”  I’ve been reading about Photography for about a year now and fiddling around with Photoshop for a few months.  I’ve had ideas swimming in my head about certain shots to take with my little point-and-shoot camera and they always seemed to fall short when I looked at the actual picture.  So after alot of research, I decided to purchase a DSLR Camera someday…

That day finally arrived last night!  🙂

I had decided on a very basic, entry-level DSLR that would perform well yet wouldn’t break the bank.  I’ve done some odds-and-ends job wise, plus I recently turned (ahem) a year older, so I had some extra cash flowing my way.  After a few months of saving, I brought this baby home…

I got this great deal at Sam’s Club with a Canon Rebel XS DSLR camera and lens, a bag, a telephoto zoom lens, and an SD card.  Needless to say I was super-excited.  But in keeping with the “baby” analogy, I must say when I opened the box and took it out, I was thinking “now what”?  I mean, I’ve read and read books and websites for a while now, but it’s not the same as having it in the house with you, just like a newborn.  I’m sure after living with it a while, playing with it I’ll be schlepping  it around my neck and knowing what I’m in doing in no time, right?  (Of course, I realize people have DEGREES in photography and are still learning and playing, but help me with my delusion, m’kay?).

So, I’ll be posting pics soon.  Granted, I’ll shoot in Auto mode at the beginning just to get the feel of it, but hopefully I’ll venture into aperture-priority mode soon.

Wait, I think I hear my “baby” calling me… 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 10:33 am

    YAY! Welcome to the Canon DSLR world. Can’t wait to see what you do with it. I’ve had mine for a while now and still don’t shoot in full manual. It takes me way too long to get all the settings just right & by the time I do, I’ve missed the shot completely.

    Oh, MY ‘baby’ needs some attention. Catch ya later!

    • Robin permalink*
      August 4, 2010 11:05 am

      Yep, I wasn’t sure if I was going with that or Nikon. The preview screen and the nice deal I got at Sam’s sort of decided it for me, though. Wish me luck!

  2. Brian permalink
    August 4, 2010 10:41 am

    Me too except I went Nikon D5000. Try shooting P mode rather than auto from my reading it is a far better option than full auto. Also don’t use the auto white balance either. THat is quick and easy to set. I have totally improved my picture taking and see great pictures everywhere. Check out this website too for tips and community digital-photography-school.com. I’ll get my reading list together for a couple good books too later tonight. Hoping to use my “baby” today for some work pictures! Oh and watch out for Lens Envy! Already trying to work on me.

    • Robin permalink*
      August 4, 2010 11:07 am

      Nikons are great, too. I was seriously considering the D3000, but decided to go with Canon instead. On the DVD I got it talked about immediately setting the white balance before shooting, so I should probably learn to do that rather quickly. Thanks so much for the website information… I’ll check those out! And yes, I’ve heard of lens envy… I’ve already got my list of other things I “need.” 🙂

  3. August 4, 2010 10:49 am

    Oh girl.. congrads… you are going to have some much fun with that.. it is an awesome camera.. i will be waiting and watching for new awesome pictures in the near future..

    • Robin permalink*
      August 4, 2010 11:08 am

      Thanks, Karen! Still enjoying your blog… it’s soooo encouraging!

  4. August 4, 2010 11:56 am

    Great. Now I can be jealous of you and Courtney both!
    😉
    Happy shooting! Do you think Santa can carry one through the chimney to my house? I’d better start asking now.

    • Robin permalink*
      August 4, 2010 12:03 pm

      Thanks, Susan… you have a nice blog… I’ll have to put it on my blog roll!

  5. Spencer permalink
    August 4, 2010 8:26 pm

    Congratulations Robin! You will enjoy learning how to use it. I see you got a nice zoom lens. Enjoy.

    • Robin permalink*
      August 4, 2010 9:14 pm

      Thanks, Spencer. I love your photography tutorials… keep ’em coming!!!!

Leave a Reply

