Skip to content

First picture…

August 5, 2010

Okay, so I’m still trying to figure out this thing.  I probably snapped 100 or so pictures yesterday, mostly of my kids, while playing with my new camera.  I’ve learned two things:

1. I have ALOT to learn.

2. My youngest son moves very, very fast.  I love natural light, so I’d turn off my flash, try to have the steadiest hand I could, and half his pictures are still pretty blurry.

Here’s one I took yesterday that turned out well.  It pretty much summarizes the relationship between my oldest, who will be 7 next week, and my youngest, who will be 2 next month.  Nathan could do anything to Joshua and he’s okay with it.  Of course, Nathan is, on the whole, much more gentle with him than, say, Ashlyn (my 4 year old).  I love several things about this picture.  You can’t see Nathan’s face, so you’re wondering, who’s hitting this poor kid with a plastic golf club?   Second, the look of pure joy on Joshua’s face as his older brother is playing with him.

Now for my self-criticism… I just did a quick edit to this in iPhoto, so I didn’t Photoshop it and do the levels like I normally would.  On my camera screen, this pic looked great, but on the computer screen it was way too light.  But here in the website, it looks dark. Go figure!  Plus, I know cutting people off at the joints is a no-no, but with a 2 year old, I take whatever shots I can get!

Anyway, I still have alot of work to do with white balance and such, but just thought I’d say this is ALOT of fun!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Maria S. permalink
    August 5, 2010 3:01 pm

    So cute! Bekah is super fast too and it’s hard to get pictures with her in them that are not blurry. That’s funny that Joshua is ok with Nathan doing that…Bekah rules the roost around here and she lets her brothers know it…I mean she does love on them too…giving them hugs and all but she can turn around and be smacking them the next minute if they irritate her. 😉

    • Robin permalink*
      August 5, 2010 4:53 pm

      Gotta love those girls!!!! My Ashlyn is in the middle, but fiercely independent! She’s nobody’s doormat!

  2. August 5, 2010 3:20 pm

    You might know this already but just a little tip: when photographing busy toddlers, I always put my camera in sports mode. Super fast shutter speed and it will capture the movement without the blur.

    Cute pic! He has the sweetest smile!

    • Robin permalink*
      August 5, 2010 4:46 pm

      Hey Courtney! I tried what I thought was sports mode, but they were still blurry… of course, if I’d read my manual and pay closer attention to the DVD I might get more tips! I have my arm pretty stable, but still the blur!!!?!!!

      • Robin permalink*
        August 5, 2010 4:53 pm

        I’m also insisting on just using window light, so that might be part of the problem too???

  3. August 5, 2010 5:48 pm

    see i told you it wouldnt be long till i saw some great pictures from you… lol

Leave a Reply

