Skip to content

Happy Birthday Nathan!

August 10, 2010

Okay, for all those who don’t mind sappiness, read on.  Everyone else, maybe I’ll see you tomorrow! 🙂

Seven years ago I was handed a beautiful baby boy after months of expecting a baby girl (3 ultrasounds, people!), a bout with preeclampsia, a difficult labor with the end result being a c-section due to one of the worst situations a baby can encounter… the separation of the placenta due to an abruption causing a plummeting fetal heart rate.  Despite this, he was perfectly healthy after delivery.

Now, we had a girl’s name picked out but not a boy’s name.  I knew I wanted a middle name of Christopher after my brother who is now in Heaven.  First name… I had no clue.  And I was so doped up on blood pressure medication that William pretty much decided on Nathan from a huge list we had made months before.  Nathan means “Gift of God” and that he is…

Being the first born and the “guinea pig” of sorts, he has been subject to my learning curves of “do I let a baby cry it out?” and “good grief, when is this boy going to be potty-trained” and “how is he going to do in preschool without me” and “will he stand strong against friends encouraging him to do wrong.”  Through it all, I’ve tried to stay mindful that I extended my arms and was handed this beautiful boy, a gift from God.  I need to keep my arms extended and continually offer him back to God.  He is “mine” for a time; he ultimately belongs to God.  I am blessed to be chosen to be his mom.

He’s moved on from the Wiggles to Suite Life of Zack and Cody; from playing with Thomas the Tank Engine to building automobiles out of Kinex toys; from reading Chugga, Chugga, Choo Choo to beginning to read on his own.  I’m thankful I’ve been able to be there through all of these moments.  I’m thankful for these last seven years and look forward to the next 11 or so until I send him out into the real world to be the man that God has planned for him to be.  For further sappiness, here’s a song that always reminds me of him, Godspeed by Dixie Chicks.  I love you, Nathan! (scroll down for more pictures).


5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Miller permalink
    August 10, 2010 12:27 pm

    Alright, I am crying…how wonderful…Robin, you truly have a gift for writing!

    • Robin permalink*
      August 10, 2010 1:11 pm

      Thanks Linda! I believe tears are a sign of strength! So thankful God has blessed you guys with new “little men” in your life!

  2. Tiffini Brown permalink
    August 10, 2010 6:16 pm

    Thanks for sharing your family. We love Nathan and know God has something special planned for him. You and William are great parents to 3 blessed little ones.

  3. August 11, 2010 1:05 pm

    Beautiful post! Happy Birthday, Nathan. He’s truly handsome, Robin.

Leave a Reply

