Skip to content

My Best Friend…

August 12, 2010

To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die.  ~Thomas Campbell, “Hallowed Ground”


18 years ago today I lost my best friend… my little brother, Chris.

Sure, we had our usual sibling quarrels, but on-the-whole we got along very well.  He was often times the opposite of me… funny, light-hearted, talkative… and pretty self-confident!  He could be super-annoying and super-endearing at the same time.  He loved life and even died “loving life” while on a rock-climbing adventure.  I miss the person that he was.

I also miss the person that he would be.  I miss the lifelong friend that could kid me about turning 40 before him.  I miss the friend that he would have been to my husband as they talked about drums, cars, music.  I miss the uncle that my three kids would have enjoyed as he played ball with them.  I miss the conversations that I would have had with his wife about motherhood and the nieces and nephews I would have loved on.  I miss the times we could have filled my parents house with an insane amount of noise from the bustle of young families.

And although I miss him, I am also comforted.  He is with my other best friend…

Jesus.

Together my two best friends walk and laugh.  They go on many adventures together.  I, for one, would like to see that.  And I will someday.  I will see his big smile again.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 9:16 am

    Beautiful tribute to Chris, Robin. I was thinking of you yesterday and didn’t get a chance to come over and let you know. I remember him as very outgoing, talkative and just plain fun. Everyone enjoyed being around him. Reading about the things you miss truly saddens me. You know God had His reasons, but I’m sure you still wonder why and what those reasons were. Peace be with you, Robin. Blessings…

    • Robin permalink*
      August 14, 2010 11:23 am

      Thanks Courtney, for the wonderful comment!

Leave a Reply

