Skip to content

Miscellany Monday

August 16, 2010

Time for another installment of Miscellany Monday, a nice collection of randomness.  Carissa hosts this every Monday at her blog, lowercase letters.  Join in the fun!

1. It’s Monday and I’m already tired.  I stayed up WAY too late last night planning school stuff for our new homeschooling year.  It’s so hard to fight the urge to do these things late at night when everyone is asleep and it’s super quiet (and I’m not a morning person at all, so waking up at 5:00 isn’t an option for me.  Period.) 🙂

2. I am at a loss as to what to do on the weekends on this blog (weekends being when my husband is off, Friday and Saturday).  On Sunday I do a worship song posting, but I’m still working out the schedule for everything.

3. This week my daughter begins preschool on Wednesday (be prepared for yet another sappy post).  I’ll probably begin my son on 1st Grade that day, also.

4. Another confession: my almost 2-year-old still takes a bottle.  I’ve tried everything everyone has suggested.  He’s my third and I should know better.  He still wakes up at night for one.  I would be less likely to give it to him if he wasn’t rooming with my 7 year old, but I feel badly for Nathan if Joshua is screaming it out.  Not only does Joshua take a bottle (well, several throughout the day) but he’s on the size 1 nipples.  That’s the one for ages 0-3 months, folks.  And he protests if I get him anything bigger than that!

5. I’m planning to take all three kids to the library today.  Wish me luck!  I’ve rediscovered this lovely place where books abound.  We can also get some DVDs that are different without paying a rental fee or buying them (and let me tell ya, any DVD that is “different” than normal is enjoyable.  One can only watch Monster’s, Inc. so many times).  The kids love it, too.

Happy Monday!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 10:13 am

    I am tired, too. I found myself slinging back Red Bull to stay up after the kids went to bed to get things done. I tried the 5AM thing and it didn’t agree with me or anyone else in the house.

    Wish I had some suggestions for you about the bottle. But neither of my kids ever took a bottle – EVER. I’m interested to hear what actually ends up working for you, though.

    Have fun at the library. Hope you have a great week!

    • Robin permalink*
      August 17, 2010 11:24 am

      Thanks Courtney… yes, I figure I will never be a morning person. Ever.

  2. Lindsay permalink
    August 16, 2010 1:21 pm

    I have yet to try the library with my boys, but some different dvd’s sound nice….I think I can quote every word of every dvd that we own 🙂

    • Robin permalink*
      August 17, 2010 11:25 am

      Lindsay, Central library doesn’t have the greatest DVD selection, but they have a few. They have ALOT of VHS if you still have a player (I do and still play alot of them). They have a storytime on Thursdays beginning September that they’d probably enjoy, although how good it is sometimes depends on the librarian that is running it, so…

  3. August 16, 2010 7:22 pm

    I really love working at night when everyone else sleeps, but I always pay the price in the morning. I have a friend who gets up at 4 am every morning of her life and does e-mails, hobbies etc. She says the”me”time makes her a better mom. 4??? I’m better at night. You’ve got your hands full with the ages of your kids. Sounds very much like the age span with mine, but mine are getting big now. Have a good week.

    • Robin permalink*
      August 17, 2010 11:26 am

      Patrice, thanks for visiting my blog! Yep, can’t say that I’ll ever get up at 4 voluntarily or for something other than driving to some awesome vacation destination.

  4. Ana Maria S. permalink
    August 17, 2010 10:30 am

    Robin, I do the same thing with staying up late getting stuff done while everyone else sleeps but then I pay for it in the morning since I am so not a morning person either! That will have to change seeing as how I HAVE to get Nikolas to school before 7:55 am so he’s not tardy & then Jonathan to his school soon after…I wish I could share some suggestions about the bottle thing…for both of my boys I took it away right at 12 months old, never had any problems, they were fine with just drinking milk from a sippy cup. And Bekah I nursed till 21 months old, she never took a bottle (she flat out refused) but I will say she is attached to her paci so now that is what I am working on taking away in the next couple weeks before she turns 2. (I took the boys paci away around 18 months old so yeah I am slacking with my last baby…lol) 🙂

    • Robin permalink*
      August 17, 2010 11:27 am

      Ana Maria, yes, I’m at a loss. At 12 months Nathan decided he didn’t want it. Ashlyn was so consumed with her paci that she didn’t mind the bottle not being there anymore (of course, she was 3 before the paci was gone for good). Joshua… I dunno.

Leave a Reply

