Skip to content

Disappearing Random People…

August 26, 2010

I have a goal of playing with Photoshop at least once a week… I had the perfect picture in mind today.  It is of Joshua and Nathan at the beach a couple of months ago (I think this was Memorial Day).  I think this was the last time we went to the beach because after that there was the whole oil leak thing and reports of sharks being driven closer to shore.  ANYWAY…

This is a cute photo of Joshua (even though the sun was straight up and he’s squinty and glare-y).  However, there are two people in the background that happened to walk right into the shot.  They seem to be nice enough people and she has a nice smile on her face.  But, I really wanted them out of the photo.  So, I tried my hand at PSing them out.  If you look close enough for imperfections, you’ll find them!  Anyway, after some warming adjustments, some darkening, and an edge burn, hopefully it turned out better.


12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 10:46 am

    That is awesome! I really need to learn how to make people disappear, even if only from the background of a photo!

    • Robin permalink*
      August 27, 2010 8:09 am

      Yes, it’s a good thing!

  2. Jess permalink
    August 26, 2010 11:40 am

    WOW!! GREAT JOB!!!! You could have fooled me if i was to see the PShoped pic first!!

  3. Susan Kessler permalink
    August 26, 2010 5:39 pm

    Good job Robin! That looks great!!

  4. August 26, 2010 10:52 pm

    Robin.. how did you get Photoshop.. did you down load it , or did you buy a disc..
    I want it but not sure how to go about getting it..
    I usually use Photo bucket.. but my desire is to have
    Photoshop..
    can you guide me as to how to get it.
    Thanks…

    • Robin permalink*
      August 27, 2010 8:09 am

      Hey Karen… there are two versions of PhotoShop. There is a professional version and then a commercial version.

      The professional version is called PhotoShop. I think the latest one is PhotoShop 5. Anyway, it can cost several hundred dollars. I have it installed on my computer as part of a creative suite package. I needed Adobe InDesign on my computer for doing the worship folder and inserts for the church (I do them from home), so I was able to download it onto mine under their license. It downloaded the entire Adobe suite, so I got the program for free!

      There is a commercial version, however, called PhotoShop Elements. You can even buy this at Walmart for about $100. I think for most of us this is more than adequate. If you’re mostly using it for processing photos and such, I think this is a good version.

      I’ve also heard good things about Lightroom, also by Adobe, but I’m not sure about the cost of it.

      Picnik is an online program that’s FREE… I think Ashley Abney uses it alot.

  5. August 27, 2010 11:40 pm

    Great edit!!

  6. August 31, 2010 3:30 pm

    Your picture turned out wonderfully. Much better without the random people in the background.

Leave a Reply

