Skip to content

Macro Friday

September 3, 2010


I debated on linking up this week or not.  My youngest turns two on Sunday and I wanted to do a post on him, but as I’m writing this morning, I’m thinking of a million things I need to get done to finish out our homeschooling week.  So, I decided to do a macro shot.

Now, I am new to macro, so I’m not really sure what all encompasses it except “really close up.”  After Googling it, I came up with the definition that it is “close-up photography in which the subject is displayed in its actual size.”  So, this weeks’ pic fits this, I think.  If not, please forgive me!

This is of a sea turtle at Mote Aquarium in Sarasota.  It was feeding time, so these suckers were coming pretty close out of the water.  I have always been fascinated by turtles and have even had a few as pets (well, the painted or box turtle variety).

I used Photoshop CS4 to sharpen it (I was hoping you could see his little eyeballs amongst the black pigmentation around his eyes.  I also greened up the water a bit around him (I just felt like it, plus I felt the brown and white stood out more with it).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 9:14 am

    WOW! Great idea and great capture! I love turtles too! and you did a great job

  2. September 3, 2010 9:57 am

    I love the way the water looks on the turtle! And you can see his eye in there. Very cool shot and nothing I’d get to see in Kentucky!

  3. September 3, 2010 10:24 am

    what a great shot, I love it is that his eye??

  4. September 3, 2010 10:47 am

    LOVE this! I glanced at the pic first and had to back up and read. Such detail. Great job!

  5. September 3, 2010 10:59 am

    What a neat shot!

  6. September 3, 2010 3:22 pm

    what a great shot!

  7. September 3, 2010 11:36 pm

    Wow! Just amazing!

  8. September 4, 2010 5:56 am

    I love turtals, grate shot.

  9. September 9, 2010 1:39 am

    Amazing shot!
    I love the color of the water.

    I love turtles! I used to have painted turtles too 🙂 And I’ve always thought that sea turtles are just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

