Skip to content

Miscellany Monday

September 6, 2010

Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

Happy Labor Day to ya!  Monday again?  Time for another Miscellany Monday post.  To link up your own, visit Carissa’s blog, lowercase letters.

1. Labor Day marks my yearly trip to K-Mart to check out their swimsuit clearance for the kids.  With a pool in our backyard and with trips to the beach, the kids require several swimsuits a year because they are ALWAYS in them!  K-Mart isn’t usually my favorite store, but they always have nice suits for about $2 on Labor Day weekend.  Exciting, I know.

2. We may be going to Busch Gardens today provided the weather doesn’t take a turn for the worst… it’s a bit gloomy outside.  Holidays can be either SUPER crowded or dead… I haven’t quite figured it out.  I get a bit crowd-phobic (agoraphobia?  I can’t remember) in some places and get all stressed-out if the place is crawling with people.  I get that way at Walmart sometimes, too.

3. I have been craving sweets and carbs something fierce over the last week.  And I’ve been consuming them something fierce, too.  I dare not step on the scale for fear I would scream out loud.  HELP!

4. Little man Joshua’s birthday was yesterday.  I made a cake for him, although it wasn’t anything to look at.  I made Elmo for him out of red sprinkles and a paper template.  It turned out okay by two-year-old standards.  For some reason, if my kids eat cake with alot of food dye in it (the kinds that are beautiful scenes all over the top of it with various colors) we have a puke fest.  Nothing like cleaning up blue puke.  ANYWAY, I’ve thought about experimenting with natural food dyes found in health foods stores, but I’ve heard they can alter the taste of the food (i.e. red coloring made from beets).  Anybody had any experience with this?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 9:11 am

    I haven’t tried “real” natural food dyes. I have colored icing with beet juice before. I just took the juice out of a can of beets and it made the icing a nice pink with no flavor at all. But to get enough intensity to get red. . . I don’t know. I just made my boy a birthday cake from scratch with no dyes, but it just looked like a yellow cake with off white icing. One year olds aren’t even as picky about such things as two year olds. It’s a good thing, too!
    If you do find some good, natural food colorings, please let us know!

  2. summer permalink
    September 6, 2010 10:21 am

    Well happy birthday to your litte one! Yay for $2 swimsuits can’t beat that…. Whole foods has natural dye suckers that are dyed with beet juice and different fruits and veggies and my little Kelcee loves them….

    Yay for making him a cute Elmo cake….memories to last a life time

    love your blog btw
    xoxo
    Summer :0)

  3. September 6, 2010 11:34 am

    I have had a friend that their daughter has allergies to die. She gets a rash though. Maybe he’s allergic? That’s too bad for the little guy.

    I am so with you on number 3. This trip I am sure I have gained some poundage. I have been eating sweets nonstop. Not good 😦

    If you do go to the Garden today. I would love to see pictures.

    Thanks for sharing your randomness!!
    ~blessings

    Dorcas

Leave a Reply

