Skip to content

A day remembered…

September 11, 2010

There are moments that stop us dead in our tracks and suddenly jolt our familiar routines-  moments that take your breath away and make you take a hard look at life and wonder what the future holds.  There have been moments through history that have defined generations, moments that will forever pierce the hearts of people as they recall where they were when they heard the news.

For my grandparents, I would guess to say that the bombing of Pearl Harbor was one of those moments.  For my parents, I would guess that the JFK Assassination or Neil Armstrong’s walk on the moon would stir such feelings.  People stop what they’re doing long enough to stare at the TV screen or listen to the broadcast to see history-in-the-making, one that would forever change the familiar.

For my thirty-something years so far, I can list a handful: the Challenger explosion, the OJ Simpson trial verdict, and…

September 11, 2001.

I still get a huge lump in my throat and tears forming in my eyes when I think of this day.  I know it has been so covered in the media and so familiar to hear that date, but I can still feel the emotions of the day if I dig down deep enough.

Now, I would guess everyone who is reading this blog post (unless you’re 9 or younger… in that case, congrats on your reading skills!)  has a  memory of that day.  And I don’t want to bore you with details; mainly, I want to make a diary entry of sorts to someday show to my children what I was doing that day and how the news at each hour further played out like something out of a summertime blockbuster movie.

It wasn’t really a typical day for me at all.

I was working as a secretary for an accounting firm at the time; however, I had been asked to sing at a studio session for PraiseGathering Music Group at Gaither Studios.  It was my VERY first time, so I woke up feeling very nervous anyway.  As I was getting ready, my husband was watching the television and just looking in shock at the TV screen.  I had just seen a few snippets on the television and had to leave quickly to make the thirty minute drive to Alexandria to the studio.

When I arrived, we had just a few minutes until we started the first song.  The singers (about 16 in all, 4 on each part) all briefly spoke about the incident, then it was time to get to work.  We’d rehearse a song once, record it in three passes (which took about one hour per song).  After that hour was a quick break until the next song.  We used our breaks to gather around the TV at Gaither Studios and watch as the horrors of the day slowly unfolded.  The pentagon, the crash in Pennsylvania.  The towers falling.  I remember thinking how odd it was, the whole day.  At one point I was standing next to Bill Gaither (a gospel music legend) who remarked about “9-11, nine, one, one.  I’m sure that’ll be significant.”

What would normally have been a day of nervousness about sight-reading, worried about getting everything just right turned into moments of wondering what would pop up on the TV screen at the next break.  What would the world look like at the end of the day?

After the session was over, I drove home and stopped for gas, witnessing $4.00 per gallon (unheard of in that day) gasoline and people cussing at each other in the gas lines.  It all seemed so bizarre.  Later that day, a trio I was in, Due North, and Pastor Fred Meadows led a remembrance service at Anderson University.  (The picture at the beginning is from the newspaper the next day).  We sang worship songs and had a time of prayer for those affected and for our country.

Even though I still don’t understand the evil of that day, God is still in control.

Psalm 46

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells. God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day.  Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall; he lifts his voice, the earth melts. The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.  Come and see the works of the LORD, the desolations he has brought on the earth. He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth; he breaks the bow and shatters the spear, he burns the shields with fire. “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”  The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.

GOD BLESS AMERICA!

-Robin

Ironically, the music we recorded that day was “Songs of Hope and Encouragement” Vol. One by Jay Rouse and Randy Vader.  So many encouraging songs, very gentle melodies.  I’ve looked online today and nine years later that particular collection isn’t available anymore.  We also recorded “Songs of the Risen King” that day… I did find “Thine is the Kingdom.”  I have some of the CDs from different studio sessions I was on the next year or so until we moved to Florida, but I was able to find one recording online that I was on.  Kiddos, I don’t know how long it’ll be there, but I’ll link to it anyway.  It was a fun day to be a soprano, let me tell ya!  You’ll see what I mean if you listen to it. WARNING: It’s very choral, but we did alot of choral listening CDs for church choirs!

http://www.praisegathering.com/sounds/a08293.mp3

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    September 11, 2010 10:14 am

    I am listening to your song as I watch MSNBC replaying the news broadcast of that day. The emotions of that day are still strong, however listening to music praising God and reminding us that He is in control is comforting. Most certainly a day of remembrance but also remembering that in all things God is glorified.

    • Robin permalink*
      September 12, 2010 8:02 am

      Yes, I wondered about posting that song. It was so upbeat compared to the events that were happening that day, but the words of it were still truth in a world of chaos!

  2. September 11, 2010 12:57 pm

    I will never forget exactly where I was, what I was doing that day. The details are etched in my mind as if it happened just minutes ago. I’ll never forget….

    • Robin permalink*
      September 12, 2010 8:03 am

      Yes, it’s amazing how moments like those can do that…

  3. September 12, 2010 7:22 pm

    I never really detailed in my blog what I was doing that very day…but all I can remember was—I was just sitting in front of the TV with my family when the plane crash aired on the news, streaming live via CNN. Following after that…a prayer vigil was announced in the same network. I think we lighted a candle and my family prayed for America.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

