Skip to content

Before and After…

September 16, 2010

It’s been one of those days… I’ve been super unmotivated.  There’s no other way to say it.  Alas, here I have a post for the blog.  I sometimes worry that this blog will become just another thing on my long list of uncompleted things or something else I put off.  I do love how this forces me to be creative, to do something that provides an outlet for my kiddie-filled days.

Anyway, today’s pic is from several weeks ago.  I posted some of the seagulls, but didn’t know quite what to do with this pic.  I mean, it’s so cool to have a lone pelican on a pier and seagulls all lined up in a row just watching his every move.  The pelicans here are SO dark (thankfully none of ours are covered in oil) so it’s hard to draw out their features.  I had a choice to make… keep the beautiful sky and make the subjects dark, or lighten the pelican?  I’m sure those of you with great photography skills could think of other things, but this is the SOOC I have to work with.

So, I chose to lighten the picture overall and play with the contrast to make it more blue-ish.  I also felt like painting the pier a little bit.  I can see the little pelican sweety’s face now!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 3:04 pm

    I like either picture, but I think I like the second one better. Being able to see the details of the pelican is really nice. I wish I could see such beautiful things so easily!!
    It’s a really cool shot!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 16, 2010 4:10 pm

      Thanks Susan! I do like living near the beach… lots of neat photo subjects! But then again, I don’t think we have the little critters you do (or maybe I’m not looking hard enough!).

  2. terry permalink
    September 16, 2010 4:15 pm

    “Air Traffic Control Tower to pelican, You are clear for takeoff”

    • Robin permalink*
      September 16, 2010 4:48 pm

      Good grief, Mom! You see the hilarity in everything. I didn’t get it at first, but then I thought about it and saw the bird on top of the pole! LOL 🙂

  3. terry permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:35 pm

    And all the other seagulls are taxiing onto the runway waiting for clearance to takeoff 😎

  4. September 16, 2010 8:59 pm

    I like both shots actually. But I hsve to admit, I’m a sucker for a sunset. I may have gone the other way. But I think you did a great edit. You lightened it without losing any of the detail and made it a totally different picture!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 16, 2010 9:18 pm

      I know, hence the conundrum. But that’s the beauty of it… alot of pics can go so many different ways!

  5. September 17, 2010 1:07 am

    Both photos are just lovely, each for their own reason. I always love a sunset photo, but the edit just looks so beachy and fun!

    If you want to keep the sunset, but lighten the pelicans, you can use a layer mask. That way you only change the areas of the photo you want to change, and/or change different areas in different ways.

    • Robin permalink*
      September 17, 2010 11:51 am

      Thanks Angela… I knew there was some way around it. My photoshop skills are novice at best! 🙂 I may try that and do it for next weeks before and after!

Trackbacks

  1. Before and After «

Leave a Reply

