Skip to content

Macro Friday

September 17, 2010

I had two shots for today.  Both were flower shots, which aren’t typically what I take pictures of.  They’re nice because they sit still and look pretty, but taking shots of them is sometimes harder than it looks.  Plus, I’m not really into botany, so I could only identify 5% of flowers if my life depended on it.

So… today I chose what I was told is a gardenia.  My husband helped me pick this one because “it’s a tropical flower and unique.”  I said, “Really?”  He replied, “yeah, they grow in Hawaii.”  Evidently he could identify at least 10% of flowers if his life depended on it.

The story doesn’t end there.  After scheduling this post for Friday morning (I’m writing this late Thursday evening) my husband say “at least, I think it’s a gardenia).  Doubt.  Google pics of gardenias… nope, doesn’t look a thing like that.  Google Hawaiian leis… there it is…. PLUMERIA.  “Ploo-mare-eee-yuh”

Evidently his botany skills are as good as mine. 🙂  Love  ya hun.  ANYWAY, the file is named “gardenia” and I’m not about to go through all that uploading and such again.  Without further ado… the white flowery thingys that smell good in my backyard… the ever-so-loved plumeria.

To link up your own macro shot, visit Blogging From Bolivia.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 7:21 am

    Well, a rose by any other name. . .
    It really is a stunningly beautiful shot! I can almost smell it 😉

    • Robin permalink*
      September 17, 2010 8:05 am

      Yep… it does smell just as sweet no matter what the name. 🙂

  2. September 17, 2010 9:09 am

    They look so…. PERFECT. What a perfect flower! The detail is gorgeous and like Susan said, I can almost smell them. Nice!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 17, 2010 11:31 am

      Thanks Courtney… it is pretty, even if I can’t tell what it is half the time, LOL!

  3. justinegordon permalink
    September 17, 2010 12:11 pm

    whatever they are they are lovely and I bet they smell wonderful too

    • Robin permalink*
      September 18, 2010 7:34 am

      They do! Thanks Justine!

  4. September 17, 2010 12:32 pm

    lol once I saw it I knew it was a Plumeria – they are so beautiful a flower and thats a wonderful macro. Ever so much nicer than a gardenia.

    • Robin permalink*
      September 18, 2010 7:35 am

      I’m so glad we looked it up! Thanks for visiting my blog today!

  5. September 17, 2010 2:19 pm

    This is a gorgeous shot!
    The clarity here is amazing!

  6. September 17, 2010 2:47 pm

    Simple perfection.. Love the shot… Awesome focus.

  7. September 17, 2010 3:36 pm

    This is GORGEOUS! It’s a perfect combination of crisp and clear while still appearing soft and delicate. I adore it!! 🙂

    • Robin permalink*
      September 18, 2010 7:36 am

      Thank you so much! I’m glad I took a pic before they started dying!

  8. September 17, 2010 4:22 pm

    giggle – I love your post! And your macro is great! And I’ve learnt something 😉 Couldn’t have named it and am glad that my life didn’t depend on naming it 😉

    • Robin permalink*
      September 18, 2010 7:37 am

      Thanks Rosie. Yes, unfortunately my botanical ineptness knows no limits! Thanks for visiting my blog today!

  9. September 18, 2010 12:24 am

    I can almost smell these blossoms! My 6 years on islands in the western Pacific made it possible for me to experience these wonderful flowers on a daily basis. How I miss that!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 18, 2010 7:38 am

      Wow, that must have been nice! Thanks for visiting my blog today!

Trackbacks

  1. Macro Friday «

Leave a Reply

