Skip to content

Scavenger Hunt Sunday (Macro Friday blog hoppers, see below *SORRY*)

September 26, 2010


BLOGGING FROM BOLIVIA READERS… please click HERE!

I MESSED UP SEVERELY!  I ACCIDENTALLY LINK TO AN OLD POST.  CLICK HERE FOR THE MACRO FRIDAY POST!!! THANKS FOR THE “EXTRA” CLICK!

Yeah!  I wasn’t quite sure I would make it this week.  Last week was my first “scavenger hunt” and this week’s items were a bit tougher for me for some reason.  Some I’m super happy with and some are just the best I could come up with without getting out of the house (we’re cleaning this weekend and I’m taking a break right now to write this post).  Anyway, link up your own scavenger items by visiting Ashley at Ramblings and Photos.

The items for this week were:

  1. Miniature
  2. Water Droplet
  3. Bedhead
  4. Colorful
  5. Eyes

Here we go…

For MINIATURE, I saw these lovely baby wasps while on a walk with the family at the park earlier this week.  They had a nest on a big leaf and I had to stop and get close on them.  I’m normally pretty afraid of wasps (flashbacks from a horrible sting on my pinky finger when I was a kid that made my finger look the size of a hot dog) but it seemed really neat to happen upon these little miniature creatures… awww…

For WATER DROPLET, I actually had several halfway-good ones to choose from, so I let my husband pick it.  I like that it isn’t dropping off the typical end of the leaf and that the colors are bold both in and around it.

For BEDHEAD, I first decided to follow my grumpy 2-year-old around right after he woke up.  He has great hair… very thick and curly, and very bedhead-y.  After a few snapshots, it dawned on me that perhaps I was being somewhat cruel following the poor little fussy guy around, taking his pictures.  So… here’s my husband’s hair product (he uses BEDHEAD).

For COLORFUL, my oldest son was tasting the rainbow of fruit flavor.  I muted the color of his hand, then brought back the original Skittles color.  I really couldn’t come up with a better colorful this week.

For EYES, I had to take a picture of my daughter’s eyes.  These are the real blue color of them.  One of the first things I noticed about my husband were his GORGEOUS blue eyes and now I have three little sets of them looking at me everyday.  I tried something new in this by applying a texture to the picture.  Hopefully it works well…

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 7:42 am

    I love all of these but my fav’s are bedhead and eyes 🙂 The texture looks great!

  2. September 26, 2010 7:59 am

    Love the wasps’ nest, actually I love all of them.

    To answer your question about the droplet. I had my macro lense on and I kept shooting the water coming slowly out of the tap with my ISO bumped up to 1000 and my Aperture at the lowest number I could get. After many attempts, I got the one drop I wanted.

    Your photography is amazing. Have a beautiful Sunday. xxx

  3. September 26, 2010 8:26 am

    love it… beautiful…

  4. September 26, 2010 8:44 am

    Great photos! Love the water droplet!!

  5. September 26, 2010 8:59 am

    Thanks for stopping by to check out my photos. Your photos are beautiful, especially love the eyes and water droplet shot. 🙂

  6. September 26, 2010 9:01 am

    Your bedhead photo is quite clever!

  7. September 26, 2010 9:17 am

    You are one brave soul to take a picture of a wasp nest. I had a terrible sting from one when I was a kid. I’ve never gotten over it. Your water droplet is my favorite. It is really beautiful. I love that you took a picture of the Bed Head product.

  8. September 26, 2010 9:25 am

    Nice editing on these! I went looking for a bedhead display but then plum forgot!

  9. September 26, 2010 9:35 am

    They’re all great, but I love the first two the most!!!!! Great job on your second hunt! Hope to see many more!

  10. September 26, 2010 10:22 am

    lovely eyes and color shots!! Great job:)

  11. September 26, 2010 10:28 am

    these are such great photos, inspired! I love them.

  12. September 26, 2010 10:31 am

    These are all wonderful…I absolutely love your eye shot (great use of texture) and your miniature shot is really cool. Great work all the way around!

  13. September 26, 2010 11:30 am

    Sharing your feelings about wasps, I am very impressed by that shot! I really like your water droplet too! I got stuck using the typical leaf myself after my berry attempts were ruled an epic fail (my husband helps me pick which photos to use. Scavenger hunts are very ‘interactive’ in my house)

  14. September 26, 2010 12:38 pm

    I like the colors in the bed head shot and the beautiful eye shot. They all are fantastic.

  15. September 26, 2010 7:55 pm

    What great sunday snapshots!

  16. September 26, 2010 9:19 pm

    Stunning eyes and Skittle just light up the world don’t they?! Great job 🙂

  17. angela dunn permalink
    September 27, 2010 1:18 am

    Stunning shots. The eye shot is gorgeous and your take on bedhead, very clever.

  18. September 27, 2010 11:42 pm

    Small or not, I would never have gotten that close to wasps. I am terribly afraid of bees/wasps/etc. It is a great picture though. You water droplet picture is beautiful.

  19. September 30, 2010 10:51 am

    I’m stopping by from Ramblings and Photos!

    I love the picture of the skittles in your son’s hand! However you muted the skin colour and kept the vibrancy of the skittles looks amazing! I wish I knew how to do that!

  20. October 1, 2010 9:10 am

    I love the eye photo!

Trackbacks

  1. Macro Friday «

Leave a Reply

