Skip to content

Miscellany Monday

September 27, 2010

Trying something new here…

Usually I just post a few random thoughts that I have on Monday (provided there are some… feeling pretty brain-dead most Mondays), mostly consisting of my whining or my lists of things to do.  I ran across a post last week talking about a new link-up on Mondays called No Mom Talk Monday by Courtney K.  She challenges us to write about something totally non-Mom related.

Wow.  Do I even have anything thoughts that are non-Mom related?  As moms, we often times get our identity so wrapped up in what we do for our kids and families that we often lose who we were before we were blessed with such sweet little angels.

So, here it goes… miscellaneous non-Mom thoughts:

1. I’m really enjoying PHOTOGRAPHY/PHOTSHOP EDITING alot!  It’s wonderful to try to put something into practice that I’ve been admiring and reading about for a while now.  But as with alot of things in my life, it’s a big step to do it and then put it out there for the world to see, open to criticism.   I used to be that way with singing… I was a “secret singer” until I was about 25 (now I pretty much sing all the time).  I guess sometimes something is so sacred and so close to your heart that you’re afraid anything negative would just crush you.

2. An old topic… but I REALLY want to get down to my wedding day WEIGHT by Christmas.  I’ve lost 10 pounds since April, but it’s been a SLOW process, much of it due to my habits (sweets, diet soda, and nighttime snacks).  I’ve started exercising regularly again (doing the eliptical machine, a few free weights, and some PT exercises for my bad neck and back).

3. It’s here again… the FALL “blahs”. 😦  This will be my eighth fall in FL and this is truly the one time of year that I don’t like being in FL.  I see pics already from some New Englanders posting about fall leaves, apples, pumpkins… I must confess it makes me a tad jealous.  This time of year feels like the eternal summer.  Now, once December hits, it’s glorious.  The air is fresh, the windows are open, we’re playing outside all the time.  (Oops, some mom-ness crept into that one)

4. I’ve been READING more!  I can’t believe it.  I’ve finished two separate series of Karen Kingsbury novels… over the last few years I’ve “read” a plethora of non-fiction books on parenting, Christianity, etc… but I haven’t read much fiction at all (it requires reading the book from cover-to-cover).  It’s nice to have actually accomplished that!

Happy Monday!  Visit the sites below to link up your miscellaneous (non-Mom-ish) thoughts…
Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 9:39 am

    READING! I forgot to add that to my list of things I need to get back to. I was a closet singer, too. Put the pics out there. You’re doing fantastic! In a month or so we will finally start having fall symptoms around here. Not sure how far you are from Memphis but you can plan a trip up and enjoy it for a weekend! I’d LOVE to have you!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 27, 2010 9:43 am

      That’s so seriously sweet… thank you! 🙂

  2. September 27, 2010 12:17 pm

    We spent three Falls in Florida and I can TOTALLY feel your pain. We lived outside of Tampa and I too had that same feeling of blah when I started reading about all of my northerly friends and their beautiful leaves and cool temperatures. I hope you get some Fall down there. 🙂 I know I missed it when we didn’t have it. I have been trying to make more time to read as well. If only at night before I crash. It’s a great way to end the day and take my mind off of all things that frustrate me. Thanks for linking up! I look forward to getting to know you! 🙂

  3. September 27, 2010 2:18 pm

    Boy do I feel your ‘blah’ over fall in FL! We usually go visit my husband’s brother in Massachusetts every fall to get a little taste of the season. I miss it SO much.

    Good luck with your weight loss and photo-editing! Those are both goals of mine but the weight loss is going to have to take a back seat since I was just in a bad accident and am temporarily crippled 🙂

    Visiting from Carissa’s – I’ll be back! Cute blog!

  4. September 27, 2010 2:59 pm

    It sounds like you have been reading tons. I need to get some reading done this week.

  5. terry permalink
    September 27, 2010 5:08 pm

    Want us to send you a big bag of leaves? Love your blog. Glad you are taking some time for yourself. Enjoy!!

  6. September 27, 2010 10:21 pm

    So fun editing photos! I don’t know much but I am learning. I am looking forward to reading more books. Good you have gotten some series done. Awesome! Thanks for sharing!
    ~Dorcas

  7. September 28, 2010 11:09 am

    I lived in FL for awhile, too….and totally understand your feelings about the seasons! I now live in CA, which thankfully, does have a ‘little’ more change of seasons, but I do miss those Midwestern Autumns (I was born/raised in MI)!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Weight loss is such a struggle isn’t it! I have the same issues as you do: Diet Coke, nighttime snacking, and I definitely have a sweet tooth!! Good luck with your goals!!!
    xo

Leave a Reply

