Skip to content

Wordless Black and White Wednesday

September 29, 2010

I’m linking up with both Wordless Wednesday at 5Minutes for Mom and Black and White Wednesday at the Long Road to China.

Last night was my “mom” night.  Once a week, my dear hubby is kind enough to let me have the night out.  I typically go around and take pictures on Tuesday nights or read about photography and PhotoShop.  Last night I went to Sarasota and took some pics of different things around the city.  By the marina in downtown Sarasota is a 26 foot statue modeled after the WWII picture of the navy-man kissing the nurse.  Here’s my pic of that statue from last night.  I know, not exactly “wordless,” but whatever.  🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 9:55 am

    That is a classic. I didn’t realize there was a statue.

    • Robin permalink*
      September 29, 2010 10:45 am

      I think there’s one in San Diego, too. It’s pretty big!

  2. September 29, 2010 10:03 am

    i like the black and white effect. i’ve been to sarasota once over 10 years ago for a ballet camp at the sarasota ballet. what a treat to have those warm beaches so close to you!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 29, 2010 10:52 am

      They are GORGEOUS! I do like living here…

  3. terry permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:28 am

    Is it the camera angle or that thing HUGE? Good shot!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 29, 2010 10:44 am

      It’s HUGE! 26 feet tall. It’s pretty close to the cars in the background if that gives you an idea of scale…

  4. September 29, 2010 12:27 pm

    What a great shot, Robin! I think I’m going to suggest a “Mom’s night out” to my hubby. I’ll let you know how that goes. I’ll tell him “all the cool moms are doing it!”

    • Robin permalink*
      September 29, 2010 1:12 pm

      You need to!!!! Mine is every Tuesday. It helps keep me sane… or semi-sane.

  5. September 29, 2010 12:50 pm

    What an amazing statue and photo!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 29, 2010 1:13 pm

      Thanks Staci! And thanks for visiting my site… cute blog name, I’ll head over and check it out!

  6. September 29, 2010 7:09 pm

    Love the statue and the photo. Nice work.

  7. September 30, 2010 9:06 am

    I missed this yesterday! I wasn’t feeling the greatest last night. Woke up with no voice today. 😦 Anyhow, I love this! Very beautiful and nostalgic. And I LOVE your watermark!

    Just a suggestion…. You should install some kind of commenting system that emails your reply back to those of us who comment. Because I don’t ever get your replies to my comment. Or maybe there is a setting you can change. I bet there is.

Leave a Reply

