Skip to content

Before and After…

September 30, 2010


I’m really thinking about starting a new meme, but I’m afraid I don’t have the readership for it yet.  I’ve thought about doing a Throwback Thursday where someone takes a picture out of their archive (say, from the days of their point and shoot camera or from several years back, last week, whatever) and works on that.  There’s so many pics of when my oldest ones were little that I’d love to work on.  I Googled “Throwback Thursday” and I only see things that are sports-related, so maybe this might not be a bad idea.  I don’t know… what do you think?

Anyway, this week’s Before and After is from my “Mom Time” a couple of weeks ago.  There’s this lovely botanical garden with various benches by ponds for sitting and pondering things.  I was SOOOO excited to get 2 sun ray reflections from the water coming through the bench.  I just sort of made it all look a little more golden, plus there was this ugly blue building thing across the pond that I sort of got rid of, although my “healing brush” skills are still minimal at best.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 9:03 am

    Beautiful, Robin! I want to be sitting on that bench with a cup of coffee and a book right now. Your edit is wonderful.

    I like your meme idea. We could totally tie it into Before & After and really improve our editing skills. Cuz you know my point & shoot days weren’t the greatest. It would be a good editing challenge. I’d link up! Let me know if you decide to roll it out and when & I’ll be sure to prepare for it.

    • Robin permalink*
      September 30, 2010 9:10 am

      Thanks Courtney… that would involve me making a button and such and doing the MckLinky thing, so it might have to wait until I master those 🙂

  2. terry permalink
    September 30, 2010 9:07 am

    Is this where we saw the manatees?

    • Robin permalink*
      September 30, 2010 9:11 am

      No, it’s a different place, but only about a mile away from there!

  3. September 30, 2010 9:31 am

    Your edit is wonderful! And I think you did a great job on the little blue building. I wouldn’t have guessed it was there just from looking at your edited version!

  4. September 30, 2010 9:54 am

    Super job on the edit! Love the brightness and sunny effect!

  5. September 30, 2010 10:11 am

    stunning. not over edited, its just perfect! nice!

  6. September 30, 2010 11:01 am

    That’s beautiful!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 30, 2010 1:39 pm

      Thank you, Kristen!

  7. September 30, 2010 11:10 am

    Great before and after and great idea on the meme. If you need more readers, I can always promote it for you and send some of mine your way. I have lots of photography meme addicts on my site. LOL

    • Robin permalink*
      September 30, 2010 11:22 am

      That’s so very sweet, Ashley! I may take you up on it!

  8. September 30, 2010 11:45 am

    Suggestion on the christmas photo….why don’t you do a collage. With the girls I just posted…I think it would be really cute to do a three-window card with a picture of each of them. That might be easier and CUTER for Christmas. IDK, just a suggestion. 🙂

    • Robin permalink*
      September 30, 2010 12:59 pm

      WOW…. a good one at that. That seems more “doable.” Thanks Ashley…

  9. September 30, 2010 12:37 pm

    It’s so beautiful! So bright and the light is captured so nicely. Lovely. =)

    • Robin permalink*
      September 30, 2010 1:00 pm

      Thanks Winn! And thanks for stopping by my blog today…

  10. September 30, 2010 12:57 pm

    I love the way you warmed it up!! So lovely. I want to be there right now!

    • Robin permalink*
      September 30, 2010 1:00 pm

      Me too, sigh……

  11. September 30, 2010 2:21 pm

    So beautiful! Great edit!
    If you ever do decide to do a throwback thurs please let me know i’d love to join in! I know what you mean i have so many photos from the past that could use some work!

  12. September 30, 2010 2:31 pm

    I would love to sit down with a book and read right there in that spot. However, that never happens anymore :o) Great picture.

  13. September 30, 2010 7:53 pm

    Gorgeous! I love the sunniness on the edit!

  14. September 30, 2010 8:34 pm

    Throwback Thursday sounds like a *great* idea! Love your edit. Beautifully warm and serene.

  15. September 30, 2010 9:18 pm

    I love these photos! I can feel the peace!

  16. October 1, 2010 9:54 am

    Oh.My.Goodness. I want to LIVE in this photo!!
    I really needed a bit of beautiful tranquility today. Thank you for sharing this.

    xo*tricia

    P.S. Thank you so much for your kind words at Through My Lens. Your blog is lovely. I am off to look around.

  17. October 8, 2010 11:25 pm

    All of your photos are stunning. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

