Skip to content

Dilemna…

September 30, 2010

I’m trying to decide what to do.

I have this free blog courtesy of wordpress.com. There’s alot of things I like about it, but alot of things I don’t. I guess the fact that it doesn’t play well with others (javascripts, Google follow, Mcklinky, etc, etc, etc) is quite frustrating. They claim it is to keep the blogs more streamlined and keep them from looking cluttered. Maybe I just like clutter too much, but I keep finding more and more that I’m getting frustrated with it.

So I have a choice… I can:

1. Keep this at wordpress.com and just deal with it. FREE
2. Move to my blogger page (I have a page parked with them at http://playdoughinmycarpet.blogspot.com just in case… also FREE
3. Move to my own little piece of cyber real estate parked at http://www.playdoughinmycarpet.com for $$$?

I don’t know what to do?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 10:07 pm

    LOL! I was going to ask you how you like wordpress, because I’ve considered changing from blogspot to wordpress. I like the way you can respond to each individual comment, and I don’t think that can be done on blogger. Or, maybe I just don’t know how 🙂 And, I like that you can subscribe by email – also can’t figure out how to offer that on blogger.

    I guess this post answers my question 🙂 I think you can have more options if you upgrade your wordpress to the pro or whatever it’s called. You can use your personal domain, and I think you can add javascripts. Not sure about the google follow, though. And, I think it’s only $9.97/year.

  2. Brian Davis permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:28 am

    I would go with the domain and look for a hosting provider that will let you use Drupal or Joomla to build your site from. I am working on transitioning two websites to Drupal right now in my spare time (Not Much of it). Be happy to help get you going with one of those Content Management Systems!

  3. October 1, 2010 4:17 pm

    Depends if you want to spend a lot of time developing you site or you just want to blog. I run multiple sites from wordpress and it’s great but I spend a lot of time messing with it. I tried both drupal and joolma but soon realized i did not have enough time to learn a whole new system. If you have someone to help you on the backend then that is helpful.
    Cost: a decent host is going to be $4-9/ month plus the domain at $10-15 per year.
    Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

