Skip to content

31 Days to a Better Photo

October 3, 2010

I’m currently reading a blog series by My 3 Boybarians called “31 Days to a Better Photo.”  Today’s exercise was to play with our shutter priority mode and snap pics of something using the same F stop, ISO, but different shutter speeds.  Here are my pics.  Now, I chose something extremely available (the stapler at my desk), very still and very cooperative.  🙂  Bear with me while I practice… of course, I didn’t adjust any room lighting or any white balance, but you get the point… 🙂  I shot this with my Canon Rebel XS (my kit 18-55 mm lens).

F Stop: 4

ISO: 800

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 5:02 pm

    The manual and I are still not friends. It may as well be Greek to me. However, I DID successfully take a picture in a dark room without flash, although I don’t know how I got the flash off in shutter priority. I am really needing a remedial class I believe!

  2. October 4, 2010 12:42 am

    Excellent Job!

    You can clearly see in your experiment that the slower the shutter, the more light you got.

    Keep up the excellent work.

    xo,
    Darcy

  3. October 4, 2010 4:03 pm

    i’m having a great time playing around with darcy’s tips as well 😉

    i was looking around your blog and saw your post about switching to blogger, keeping this one, or a paid wordpress one. Then i noticed on your sidebar where you mentioned that you couldn’t add the google friend connect thing….. i have a wordpress (self hosted one) and was able to get it by going here http://www.google.com/friendconnect
    once you set up an account and change your colors it should give you a bit of code, add that code to a text widget and it should show up on your screen. i looked high and low trying to figure out how to add that to my sidebar. to my knowledge wordpress does not have a widget for this (they didn’t at the time that i added mine) hope this helps!

  4. October 6, 2010 10:56 am

    Great job. I’m following this series too. I tried this experiment but couldn’t work out how to lock the aparture on my canon eos 400d. When I took different shutter speeds, it automatically adjusted the apature to compensate!

Leave a Reply

