Skip to content

Scavenger Hunt Sunday

October 3, 2010


I made it another week!  Again, I was afraid it wouldn’t happen, but here are my entries for the Scavenger Hunt blog hop, hosted by Ashley at Ramblings and Photos.

If you’ve seen some of my posts, you may notice that the kid pics I post are mostly my 2 year-old son with a few of my daughter thrown in.  I guess this is primarily because alot of my oldest son’s photos are the “cheese” type with a forced smile and tend to be not-so candid.  I am please to actually have him in not one, but TWO of today’s pics.  Here it goes…

The items for this week were:

1. Golden

2. Smell

3. Fruit

4. Simple

5. Sports

For GOLDEN, I had pictured many lovely golden things to photograph… a sunset, a flower, some type of golden heavenliness.  But a funny  moment happened this past week shortly after Nathan had been told to practice his piano lesson.  I went to see how he was doing and to my surprise he had put on a golden Transformers  “Bumblebee” outfit and used it as inspiration for his piano playing, I guess.

For SMELL, I was really looking for something different than a flower, anything!  I thought of the 39cent bag full of onions I had and thought I could probably spare one for the sake of photography…

For FRUIT, I had to take a picture of a FL orange ripening on the tree… I sneaked into my neighbor’s yard while he was gone (he doesn’t really care!) and took a picture of the oranges that are a couple of months away from being ripe!  The sun rays are totally real; however, the lighting of the sky isn’t (it’s an effect called Magic Sunset from Coffee Shop actions).

For SIMPLE, another pic of my oldest son.  He learned how to make an aluminum foil armor at church, so he took something as simple as that and turned it into a wonderful toy of imagination.  Meet “aluminum man.”

For SPORTS, this is some old fluorescent yellow softball I found as I dug through the garage, complete with glove and bat in the background.  I’m thinking I might print this off and put it in the boys’ room sometime…

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 7:00 am

    I love every single one of these, just beautiful! I did have to laugh at Bumblebee though LOL! and ‘Aluminum Man’ hehe. I have that magic sunset action too, you’ve used it really well!

  2. October 3, 2010 7:29 am

    The spots shot is wonderful, I would print it too… if I had a boy, ha!

  3. October 3, 2010 10:04 am

    Wow, great job! LOL at your golden shot 🙂 I love what you did for smell, both the creative idea and the actual execution, and your sport shot is really good too!

  4. October 3, 2010 10:05 am

    Golden is JUST perfect!! Love the personality in it!
    Here’s mine

  5. October 3, 2010 10:30 am

    Everyone of these is fantastic. I really love the pictures of your son and I hadn’t downloaded the magic sunset action yet, so I’m glad you mentioned it. I Hope you have a wonderful week and glad you participated.

  6. October 3, 2010 10:49 am

    Great shots. I especially like the baseball.

  7. October 3, 2010 11:06 am

    These are all amazing! I love the transformer playing the piano – too cute! And I agree, the baseball shot deserves to be displayed somewhere! Well, they all could be, but the baseball and boys room just go together!

  8. October 3, 2010 12:12 pm

    Great shots! Love the baseball.

  9. October 3, 2010 1:02 pm

    Great post. Your son is funny and a creative character. The piano photo….too much. That’s quality practice for sure.

  10. October 3, 2010 1:36 pm

    I LOVE your onion and sport ones, they are fantastic

  11. October 3, 2010 3:11 pm

    Great pics! I love the ‘golden’!

  12. October 3, 2010 4:04 pm

    Great shots and edits. I love when kids use their imagination.

  13. October 3, 2010 4:05 pm

    What great shots.. I love all of them. The picture of your sons are adorable..

    BTW- I just love the name of you blog.. I only had one child and she is grown and out of the house. But I am a preschool teacher and I love to put playdough out for the kids to play with,
    they love it…. But I always have it stuck in my shoes… Then it gets on my carpet..
    Thank goodness it vaccums up easy.

    Hope you are having a happy day…

  14. October 3, 2010 5:25 pm

    The Bumble Bee photo is priceless!

  15. October 3, 2010 10:19 pm

    These are all wonderful. I love your golden and fruit shots.

  16. October 3, 2010 11:02 pm

    I love the editing in your Golden shot and I love that he’s wearing a Transformer’s Mask playing the piano.

    And I especially love the simple picture and how all the colors ended up in the grey scale… and that foil can make kids happy for hours!!!

Leave a Reply

