Skip to content

Sweet Shot Tuesday

October 5, 2010

Sweet Shot Day
I’m very tempted to put a picture of a stapler here… in fact, I think I will.

Isn’t it sweet and cute?  No?….

You see, on Sunday my husband took the two oldest to play mini-golf, so I seized the opportunity for some rare one-on-one time with my youngest son.  We went to the park (of course, I had to take along my camera and practice some shots).  We walked around, played with the dogs and squirrels (well, from afar), played on the playground, and even had a picture taken of us by a lady offering to use my camera to take one of us together.  It was wonderful.  And quickly scanning through the pictures, I saw one that was so stinkin’ adorable and sweet of Joshua looking back at me as he walked away towards a forest of trees, enjoying the beauty that surrounded him.

Flash forward to Monday evening when I decided to practice shutter speed and ISO balance… taking pictures of my silly stapler.  I went to erase all the images on my card because I hate to wait for my computer to sift through what has been downloaded before and what hasn’t.  As it was erasing, I suddenly remembered… I never downloaded the park pictures.  And they might have been able to be recovered had I not taken new pics of my stapler, I’ve found out.

Saying all that to say this… you’ve heard in carpentry to measure twice, cut once?  In photography, I guess you should check images twice, erase once.

So, my sweet shot for today, equally as cute in my opinion although it’s not the original one I had planned, is Ashlyn in her dog hat and bone made at preschool.  She’s in love with this and insists on only barking (not talking) when she’s wearing it…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 8:49 am

    OH NO! Bless your heart. I bet you were halfway sick when you realized you’d lost all those sweet pics. You’re right though, this one is pretty darn cute. I love that she only barks when wearing it. LOL!

  2. October 5, 2010 9:08 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I have enough grief for deleting blurry shots.
    At least you have a sweet shot anyway!
    I haven’t taken a sweet shot all month!

  3. October 5, 2010 9:30 am

    I feel your pain! I panic about deleting pictures before they’ve been downloaded/uploaded/whatever, so now I make erasing the card a part of my transfer process. Once I see they’ve actually saved to the computer, I take out the card, put it back in the camera, and delete right then. That way, I never have to wonder if the photos have been saved to the computer or not, and I don’t have to wait for the computer to decide what’s new and what’s not. Of course, you do now have a “good excuse” to return to the park with your little one to “replace” those lost photos!

    There’s 2 things I have nightmares about – accidentally deleting pictures (especially when it’s a paying job) and losing my appointment calendar!

    This picture of Ashlyn is adorable! I love the little hat, and the bone, and the fact that she barks while wearing it!!

  4. October 5, 2010 10:06 am

    oh no! I hate it when stuff like that happens!!! Lovely picture of Ashlyn though 🙂

  5. October 5, 2010 12:12 pm

    Oh no – I hate when that happens! But I do love this shot of your daughter.

  6. October 5, 2010 11:56 pm

    That makes me so sad for you! One time, years ago, my husband lost his (loose in his pocket) flash card on the last day of our Caribbean vacation. I thought he might cry…it was really awful. Luckily we were with my family so there were other photos from the trip, but it wasn’t the same. I’m super careful with my cards now.

    I wouldn’t have guessed you were new to photography. You seem to be off to a great start! Watch out – it’s addicting! and time consuming! 🙂

  7. Judy Neal permalink
    October 10, 2010 8:25 pm

    So very sweet of Ashlyn. So sorry the one of Joshua is lost, but I’ll bet you’ll never forget what it looked like in your mind’s eye. Give Ashlyn a hug from her Grammy.

Leave a Reply

