Skip to content

Scavenger Hunt Sunday

October 17, 2010

It was a nice break the last few days… we went to Orlando and got some cheap hotel rooms from H-O-T-W-I-R-E, hotwire dot com.  Anyway, we hadn’t planned on seeing “the Mouse” but after looking at prices on alternative things to do in Orlando that weren’t nearly as fun (the petting zoo was $21 per ticket… hello?)  we decided to go ahead and do the Disney thing.  Being a FL resident you get deals on multi-day passes, too.

Anyway, we had a ton of fun and took a ton of pictures.  I had today’s scavenger hunt list in my head as I took pictures, but I did have to use one from the archives.  Here is the list for this week:

1. Side lighting

2. Jack O’Lantern

3. Faces formed in nature

4. Sunset

5. Warm

For SIDE LIGHTING, I snapped this picture of Joshua.  I hope this picture qualifies as it may be considered back lighting, too, but this is what I could get.

I wondered about JACK O’LANTERN… not many people carve their jack o’lanterns too early in FL because this happens…  no, a cat did not crawl up in there and die.  It is some type of molding that happens with pumpkins (this was OVERNIGHT folks!).  This is our sad pumpkin from last year.

So, as we entered the Magic Kingdom, these wonderful jack o’lanterns were there to greet us by the train station out front…

For FACES FOUND IN NATURE we stopped for a potty break on the way to Orlando and I spotted this tree.  It sorts of looks like Sid the Sloth from Ice Age to me…

 

For SUNSET, this is the one I went to the archives for.  I took this in September on one of my “mom” times.  It is SOOC.   I’m sure it could have been better composed, but I think God made a purty one that day…

Finally, for WARM… a disposable generic coffee cup (from the hotel). Warm?  Yes.  Delicious?  Well, not really my thing, but this one belongs to the hubby…

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 1:24 pm

    God sure did make a purty sunset there! And, now I will probably have “H-O-T-W-I-R-E. Hotwire.com” stuck in my head for most of the day!

  2. October 17, 2010 1:28 pm

    Great pictures! The sunset is especially beautiful! And SOOC- wow!

  3. October 17, 2010 2:02 pm

    Wow – these are all wonderful. I had no idea that that funky moldy stuff formed in pumpkins like that. I don’t carve mine so it’s just not something I realized. Heck, I don’t even paint mine…I put little stickers on mine (I now have polka dots on my pumpkins). Your SOOC sunset shot is amazing! And I think your side lighting shot is just right. Have a great week.

  4. October 17, 2010 3:10 pm

    These are great!! I love the processing on your coffee shot – very artsy looking. And that sunset is amazing!

  5. October 17, 2010 3:38 pm

    Wow, the sunset is beautiful. And I think I agree with you on the face, thanks for adding the pic of Sid to compare it to. If you hadn’t said anything I probably wouldn’t have thought of that as a dead cat in the pumpkin, but seeing as you did, I can definitely see it could look like a cat. But really? Over night? Ewww

  6. October 17, 2010 4:27 pm

    LOL at your faces formed in nature-I love that one! Beautiful sunset picture as well.

  7. October 17, 2010 7:39 pm

    the side lighting shot is great…and i see your face in nature!

  8. October 17, 2010 8:10 pm

    I just adore the side lighting shot! Sunset is crazy beautiful as well!!

  9. October 17, 2010 9:04 pm

    Sunset and coffee! What a perfect pair!

  10. October 17, 2010 11:19 pm

    Your faces in nature shot is so cute… and I’m just super loving your sunset photo. 🙂

  11. October 18, 2010 10:20 am

    Wait – do I spot a little texture on that coffee cup??? NICE…… The sunset is truly gorgeous and I love the Sid tree. 🙂 We’ve made the mistake of carving our pumpkins to early here in Memphis. Same thing happens. GA-ROSS.

  12. October 18, 2010 11:34 pm

    I can totally see your faces found in nature. Cool!

Leave a Reply

