Skip to content

Macro Friday

October 22, 2010

Being near the ocean is awesome.  I just love being 10 minutes away from part of God’s amazing creation.  I went there Tuesday night for my mom time and just shot about 200 pictures, played with camera settings, and just paused to enjoy an awesome sunset.

I was walking along the edge of the shore when I spotted about 10 sand dollars.  Someone had plucked them from the ocean (living and whole) and placed them in a pile and had forgotten about them.  Often the ones you see in souvenir shops are ones that have been bleached out in the sun or with bleach and look perfect and white.  This is a sand dollar how it really looks… I’m sure they were dead at this point.  Anyway, I took alot of shots of them trying to get the sunset in the background.  I got a really cool one; however the sand dollar looked more like a dark alien shape in the foreground.  Here’s one where the background is blurred with the sand dollar in focus.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 8:23 am

    Very cool shot. : ) You are blessed to live so near the beach. I got to go to the beach last summer for the first time in 5 years. I miss it so much! It is a humbling experience to walk along the sandy shore and feel the tremendous power of the ocean. Living in the country, the next best thing for me is to sit in my backyard at night and stare into the vast depths of the night sky. Makes you feel insignificant (you’re such a teeny, tiny thing in the grand scheme of things!) and incredibly important (He made all this for ME!) at the same time!

  2. October 22, 2010 9:14 am

    This is beautiful! I am VERY jealous you are so close to the ocean. Hope to get there one day….

  3. October 22, 2010 10:51 am

    Wow – that’s a great find and a beautiful shot! I’m jealous.

  4. October 22, 2010 5:53 pm

    Love, love, love this!
    Could not be more perfect.

  5. October 22, 2010 6:18 pm

    Gorgeous picture!

  6. October 23, 2010 2:51 am

    very pretty, love this shot

  7. October 23, 2010 10:42 am

    yay! I’ve never seen one and I always wanted to see a real one…I read the Sand Dollar book to my little girl and I always wonder how to find one…of course, we are far from the ocean where we live 🙂

    lovely shot I must say!

  8. October 24, 2010 2:48 pm

    Beautiful!!! I’ve never found a sand dollar at the beach before. So jealous you live so close to the beautiful ocean!

Leave a Reply

