Skip to content

I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me…

November 4, 2010

Okay, just an old SNL quote from the 80s there.  It’s a silly skit in which Stuart Smalley, an habitual pessimist, looks at himself and gives himself that daily affirmation.

Today’s question that I’m posting about from the list 30 Days of Truth at Courtney K.’s blog is this:

What is something you like about yourself?

Why is this one so much harder? Sometimes it seems to talk about yourself is prideful or arrogant, but I know that we all have strengths and weaknesses.  So, onto my strengths… and I’ll try to exclude any “roles” and just include character qualities.

I naturally try to see the good in people.  I tend to believe the best in people unless they personally prove themselves wrong to me.  This sometimes comes around to bite me because often times I will not see disloyalty or maliciousness coming.   Or sometimes I make excuses for their behavior if I do see it.  But I do like that I don’t immediately go looking for the negative in somebody.

I keep secrets pretty well.  I’m thankful to have this quality because sometimes as a pastor’s wife you are entrusted with information that can’t be shared.  Thankfully I think first and then speak, most of the time.

I’m extremely empathetic and compassionate.  When I hear of something somebody is facing or a loss that someone has experienced, I often internalize it.  This can be a fault at times because I often “take on” things I shouldn’t.  If I were more extroverted I would probably be that crazy lady out there campaigning for various causes, marching in picket lines, and holding candlelight vigils.  But I do think that it is a good quality to have when I am praying for someone.

I’m a quick learner.  I can immerse myself in something and learn it pretty quickly, at least at a functioning level.  I don’t’ always feel like I master things, though (see yesterday’s post!).

I’m not pretentious.  This is a quality that just really turns me off in other people.  If someone is showy and puts up an attitude of being superior to others, I get pretty disgusted.  Not an authority or leadership thing, but if someone is outright boastful of themselves or  looking down on someone because of their intellect, economic status, appearance, or race I get pretty frustrated with them.

So, there it is!  Now, what do you like about yourself?  Link up with Courtney at Live Beautiful by clicking the button above.  Happy Thursday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Howard Sallee permalink
    November 4, 2010 9:09 am

    You do indeed have many great qualities. Don’t sell yourself short. We love and appreciate you for just who you are.

  2. November 5, 2010 11:17 pm

    I am right there with you on most of these qualities. Pretention is one of my biggest pet peeves. I abhor arrogance and egotistical personalities. And I try to take on the fears and pains of people I am close to as well. So I understand how empathy can be a positive and a negative trait. But, for the most part, having a compassionate heart and a tender spirit, is a great great thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

