Skip to content

Macro Friday

November 5, 2010

Taking a break from the heavy truth challenge posts to link up with Macro Friday.

Today’s subject is… honestly, I really can’t explain it to you.  This was also in the general store at the Historical Village.  It is some type of needle dispenser? display?  I’m not sure.  The guide explained it to us, but apparently I zoned out during that part of the tour.  Anyway, I did think it made for a good picture, though.  My macro submission is the first one; the second shows the actual writing that was on the front of this thing.

And here is the side view… any antique sewing fanatics out there that can explain what in the world this is???

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 9:52 am

    Looks like a dispenser, perhaps. The marks in the ‘circle’ that look like a clock face appear to be needles with different types of points.

    Or I could be completely out of my mind. ; )

    Either way, makes a great pic! : )

  2. November 5, 2010 9:54 am

    What a neat photo. I have no idea what it is.

  3. November 5, 2010 9:59 am

    whatever it is it’s a fantastic macro!

  4. November 5, 2010 10:09 am

    So cool! And I love the edits on that first image, very pretty.

  5. November 5, 2010 10:10 am

    I don’t know exactly what to call it, but they have one like that at the sewing place in Murray. They have all kinds of wonderful old “junk.” Great photo either way. It reminds me of a sundial. Maybe I should photograph the sundial Dad made. . .
    And thanks for the kind words over on my blog! Your comments always make me smile!

  6. November 5, 2010 10:12 am

    What a cool perspective – I love it!

  7. November 5, 2010 10:15 am

    Great capture, beautiful processing!

  8. November 5, 2010 10:30 am

    Love this shot.. but I love old things and things related to sewing. Great capture!

  9. November 5, 2010 12:01 pm

    I haven’t got a clue what it would have been used for – but I just love antiques and that would have been an interesting place to visit. Beautiful macro and I never realised there were so many different points in a needle – I thought the only difference was size.

  10. November 5, 2010 12:29 pm

    just beautiful–love the vintage appeal to it.

  11. November 5, 2010 12:58 pm

    Totally vintage….and certainly something I’ve never seen before. Beautiful perspective and processing.

  12. November 5, 2010 1:46 pm

    I have no clue what that it….:) I like vintage photos…great shots!

    It’s my first time to join Macro Friday! Here’s my FIRST ENTRY for this week. Have a wonderful weekend ahead!

  13. November 5, 2010 2:10 pm

    Pretty. It has such a great vintage feel about it. Thanks for sharing.

    Lisa

  14. November 5, 2010 2:55 pm

    I have no idea what that is….but I love just about anything antiquey.

  15. November 5, 2010 9:42 pm

    I really like the composition of your macro shot. I’m going to try this on an old scale!

  16. November 6, 2010 10:54 am

    Very neat!

  17. November 6, 2010 2:48 pm

    Love these shots….great angles….I am very curious as to what this is as I have no idea…Before I read your post….I thought it held old reel movies…but to do with sewing not sure…thanks for sharing and have a great weekemd

Leave a Reply

