Skip to content

Post title goes here…

November 7, 2010

Hmmm.  I’m not even sure why I opened up this “new post” thing, but evidently I feel like I need to post something, so I’ll just let my fingers do the typing and see what may come.

I’d normally love to post a Scavenger Hunt thing here on  Sundays, but I’ve been behind on those.  There are so many great submissions out there for this great meme, so check out Ashley’s blog Ramblings and Photos to see some of those.

I was thinking yesterday how poorly I keep up with my health.  I  mean, I have lost some weight (the ups and downs that comes from pregnancy, nursing, then losing, then gain again when I get pregnant again).  But this time around I’m 99.9% sure that I won’t get pregnant again.  So… the weight has come off, slowly, but I’m still not where I’d like to be, numbers-wise.

With that said, I’m not really talking about that.  I’m talking about my bad habits of diet drinks, little water, not taking my vitamins, not eating enough vegetables, and not exercising as regularly as I should.  For those of you that might have been following me the last few months that know my struggle with the diet sodas… here I go again.

I really need to cut that habit.  It was a necessity crutch to help me get through the sleepless nights of the last 7 years as I dealt with colic, teething, and downright sleep protesting of each baby that came along.  But now, my youngest is two and is, for the most part, doing well sleeping through the night.  So now I have this diet soda addiction.  Shame on me. 🙂

So here are some questions to anybody who might happen to be reading on a Sunday afternoon…

1. What are your favorite health websites?

2. What is your advice for kicking the caffeine habit?  Cold turkey or weaning?

3. What is something you need to “kick.”?

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Maria S. permalink
    November 7, 2010 3:51 pm

    1) I like eatingwell.com, heavenlyhomemakers.com, & kidshealth.org

    2) Caffeine is my friend! You probably know about my love of coffee..(sorry no real help there but I would def try to wean instead of stopping cold turkey) 😉

    3) I need to “kick” my bad habit of not eating a good breakfast in the morning then of course overdoing it the rest of the day in snacks & other meals.

  2. November 7, 2010 5:08 pm

    Well, I CAN say I feel your pain. I’m at the end of my first week with no diet Dr. Pepper. Diet Dr. has been my ‘coffee’ for years. I LOVE DIET DR. But I need to get away from the caffeine.

    So I quit cold turkey. I will tell you that you will have a headache for three days. Ibuprofen will be your friend for those three days. ; ) But then you will feel much, MUCH better. I know from experience.

    Yes, I’ve done this before. Unfortunately, I am a weakling and I always end up going back to my diet Dr. But I’m trying really, really hard this time. I’ve come to realize that it isn’t even the caffeine that I crave. It’s the carbonation. I love the burn. I NEED the burn. So I picked up several bottles of carbonated water. I love the super inexpensive kind you get at WalMart. I like the mandarin orange flavor, and raspberry lime, orchard peach and lemon. They give me the burn but with no caffeine, no sodium, no sugar. So far, so good.

    I tried weaning myself off it once but it was so much more difficult for me than just quitting. Whatever way you decide to drop the caffeine habit, I wish you luck. It isn’t easy. But you’ll be SO glad you did it! : )

  3. November 7, 2010 7:09 pm

    I don;t have any advice, but good luck! It is soo hard.

  4. November 8, 2010 9:12 am

    I need to lose about a stone, it is so hard, the trouble with the diet drinks is it’s actually the aspartine (sp?) in them that’s addictive and it’s harder to get off that than the caffeine! good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

