Skip to content

Miscellany No Mom-Talk Monday

November 8, 2010

Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

 

1. HAPPY MONDAY! Yeah, Monday!  TGIM! Maybe if I put enough exclamation points in there, I will be so enthusiastic today!!!!!!!!

But Mondays mean new beginnings, right?  A new chance to conquer those to-do lists.  A day of possibilities where goals are reached, time is maximized, kids are parented perfectly, the home is managed.  It’s a  lot like New Year’s Day, the day when ANYTHING can happen when you set your mind to it!

Most of all, Mondays are a blessing because it means we live another week to enjoy the blessings of life.

Okay, so as I’m typing this Sunday evening, I know by the time this actually gets posted on Monday morning I’ll be back to my tired, sleep-deprived self, moaning about the morning and the mountain of tasks before me.

2. It is COOL IN FLORIDA! The temps are about 15-20 below normal and it’s glorious.  I love winter clothes.  I love being able to bake in the oven and not have it heat up the house.  This is the time of year that I remember what socks are and where they go (I’m usually barefooted in flip flops most of the year).

3. If all goes well and I stick with what I said I would do, by the time you’re reading this I will have gotten myself to THE GYM and began “Operation: Avoid Holiday Poundage.”  I’m challenging myself to actually lose 10 pounds instead of gaining 10 pounds by the time the holidays are over.  Believe me, this mission is severely needed since I have just completed “Operation: Raid the Kids’ Candy Stash for Chocolate.”

4. Gotta get a CAVITY filled (2nd one in my life).   See #3 for reason for tooth decay.

5.  We’re going to plant a PUMPKIN SEED today.  I’m no expert on pumpkin propagation, but we did get a nice little sprout happening after sticking a seed in a ziploc with a wet paper towel.  We’ll see how this goes.  I am botanically-challenged.  Seriously, I just really don’t care.  I can appreciate others’ beautiful landscaping around their house and we do have some around our house that requires very little maintenance.  And my husband is the one doing the little maintenance.  But the whole gardening thing just doesn’t appeal to me (well, occasionally it does when I’ve lost my mind and temporarily have the urge after reading the latest Better Homes and Gardens, but that quickly passes).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 9:13 am

    I love your lists here, I was due to go to the gym today – new regime and I managed to put it off again! love the idea of planting the pumpkin seed.

  2. November 8, 2010 5:38 pm

    Love your random Monday list! I just had to give away two huge bowls of candy because I ate sooo much of my boy’s Halloween chocolate. I have no self control if it is the house… okay, need to go work out now! Happy Monday =)

  3. November 8, 2010 8:59 pm

    I somehow managed to avoid a cavity at my last dental exam. I generally eat most of the halloween candy as well. Can’t wait to read more about the pumpkin seed planting!!

Leave a Reply

