Skip to content

Before and After

December 2, 2010


Okay, I’ve been dying to do some “before and after” shots with some older pictures.  I mean, they may be grainy and imperfect, but hey… they’re fun.  This one was on our Christmas card in 2008.  I took the picture with my old Canon Powershot A560, added a sepia tone to it via iPhoto, and slapped it on the card.  But, since I have Photoshop now and a bit more editing knowledge, I wanted to take it further.

Here’s the before…. awww…. I like it except for that pillow corner.  Well, and the fact that the  yellow is on the walls that we changed to an icy blue because I never really did like the yellow.  Anyway.

And here’s the after.  It’s a grainy image, so I did what I could.  I did a curves adjustment, sharpened it.  I then added a grunge texture, painted back their faces a bit.  Then I made the whole thing sepia (which is not typically my thing, but I think it works, plus you can’t tell Ashlyn’s wearing a pillow case and Nathan has a towel on his head with painter’s tape holding it on).  Looking at it again online, I should probably do a bit more erasing on Baby Jesus’ head.  He looks a bit dirty.  But he was placed in a manger.  Voila!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. ccnoffi permalink
    December 2, 2010 9:53 am

    So sweet! I think it’s a great edit. The pillow corner is definitely what stuck out the most, I think. Love the texture!

  2. December 2, 2010 10:11 am

    I just love your edit. It adds so much to this photo. Removing the corning of the pillow just really soften the whole photo. Great job!

  3. December 2, 2010 10:23 am

    What a fabulous idea for a christmas card!! Love the edit.

  4. December 2, 2010 10:26 am

    Love this photo! How creative. Great job!

  5. December 2, 2010 11:13 am

    Oh my word that’s SO cute!!!!

  6. December 2, 2010 11:17 am

    awwww this is really sweet. Nicely done.

  7. December 2, 2010 11:59 am

    Oh my goodness! That is precious! The edit totally made a cute picture into an amazing picture!

  8. December 2, 2010 12:22 pm

    Wow! What a difference!! I love the edit and what a cute picture!

  9. December 2, 2010 12:26 pm

    I love your edit. What a cute idea.

  10. December 2, 2010 2:26 pm

    Oh my goodness – so sweet!

  11. December 2, 2010 2:32 pm

    Incredible!

  12. December 2, 2010 3:16 pm

    That is so cute!! I really like your edit! The sepia and texture really add to this shot.

  13. December 2, 2010 5:47 pm

    oh…. that edit is so perfect for the Christmas card!!!

  14. December 2, 2010 9:33 pm

    so cute!

  15. December 2, 2010 10:42 pm

    such a sweet photo. I love the difference the texture made, it’s really beautiful.

  16. December 3, 2010 2:47 pm

    What an awesome idea! I’m sure it was a wonderful Christmas card 🙂

  17. December 4, 2010 12:36 am

    I loved this card! It was so creative and featured some adorable little ones!

  18. December 6, 2010 9:06 pm

    This is amazing! So creative and the little ones are adorable.

  19. December 11, 2010 1:07 pm

    The black and white version made it look real. Great job. I love how much detail converting to B&W can give a photograph.

  20. December 11, 2010 5:35 pm

    You are so creative. What a great idea : ) Love it!

Leave a Reply

