Skip to content

Before and After

January 20, 2011

Time for a “Before and After” link-up with Pixel Perfect Blog and my hand at trying to improve an otherwise ho-hum picture…

My husband and I went on a cruise last week.  I’ve learned two major things about cruises in January:

1. Cruises are cheaper in January.

2. Cruises are cheaper in January for a reason; even the Caribbean is cold and rainy in January.

We had a GREAT time, nonetheless.  Because it was rainy, I didn’t take as many pics as I would have liked.  However, I did carry around my trusty Canon Rebel XS under my zipped up hoodie should an opportunity present itself.

This is a Catholic church in downtown Cozumel, Mexico.  I love Latin countries… their buildings are beautiful and it seems like they always have the most beautiful tilework.  I snapped a couple of pics before locals came in for prayer, so we left to be respectful.  The local people all had towels wrapped around them because I’m assuming many of them did not have coats.

Anyway, this was taken in somewhat dark lighting, so ISO was at 800.  The before was a bit crooked, so I had to straighten that.  I first adjusted the lighting via a histogram, turned down the blue saturation,  converted it to black and white, then I added a texture and an edge burn over it.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 10:25 am

    Very nice! I like the feel of the edit……

    and I’m trying hard to not be jealous you got to go on a cruise in January (or anytime!)…… lately, around here, they’ve had to specify if the temperature is above, or below zero!

  2. January 20, 2011 10:51 am

    Wow that is awesome!

  3. January 20, 2011 10:52 am

    The vintage look is perfect!

  4. January 20, 2011 11:57 am

    Nice! I love the edit. Sometimes colors get too distracting and take away from the overall feel you are after. Your edit brings everything together.
    Now, if you wanted to bring out the culture of where you where, they are a very colorful people and the louder the better so at that point, you would probably want to leave the colors in and focus more on the walls and not have the benches in the pic! Great image!

  5. January 20, 2011 12:12 pm

    WOW! I love your edit.

  6. January 20, 2011 12:49 pm

    While the blue is tempting to keep in the original…the edited image just gives the whole photo a new feel. a much better feel. Love it!

  7. Natalie permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:06 pm

    I love the edit you chose! It fit so well with the church feel/appeal!

  8. January 20, 2011 3:28 pm

    love the edit! gorgeous..and definitely makes me miss being in church.

  9. January 20, 2011 3:32 pm

    The black and white and the crop pulled out all the important details. Great job!

  10. January 20, 2011 3:43 pm

    I love the vintage looK!

  11. January 20, 2011 4:16 pm

    WOW! LOVE the edit!

  12. January 20, 2011 5:02 pm

    You really gave it a vintage look!

  13. January 20, 2011 6:01 pm

    GREAT edit – really adds a lot of character to your photo.

  14. January 20, 2011 6:05 pm

    WOW. LOVE!

  15. January 20, 2011 10:41 pm

    Amazing edit!!

  16. kellisblessings permalink
    January 21, 2011 12:09 am

    Beautiful! : ) Sorry it was cold and rainy for your cruise, but glad you had a good time in spite of it.

  17. January 21, 2011 12:51 am

    I too like the vintage look of your edit and I am sorry it rained for your cruise.

  18. Jessica permalink
    January 21, 2011 1:32 pm

    Beautiful picture. Yup, that’s def a Catholic church!! Much like what I grew up going to. I must add def very “spanish” looking also!

Leave a Reply

