Skip to content

Cruise Part One…

January 21, 2011

I thought I’d post some cruise pics.  Some will be from my point-and-shoot (the day we went to Grand Cayman we actually snorkeled, so I didn’t dare take my DSLR for fear it would be ruined in the sandy, wet lockers).  Some are from my DSLR.  Some are good, some are bad.  Most are so-so.  These are from the last day of the cruise.

This was a “fun day at sea” a.k.a. “in transit” back to the port.  It was in the upper 50s, rainy, windy.  No one was sunning, water-sliding, golfing, or any of the other things.  So, we had to find things to entertain ourselves with.  I think we went to Michael Jackson trivia that morning.  We went to a demonstration on how to make different towel animals that the stewards leave on the beds each night.  I also took my Canon Rebel and went around, experimenting.

To start it off, here’s a nice self-portrait in the mirrored glass on the ship.  It has this texture all over it as to cover up fingerprints, I’m guessing.  Hubby is patiently waiting in the background for me to get my crazy shots.  Note the hoodies and jeans.

Below are experiments with the shutter speed on my camera.  I had it WAYYYYYYY open (as you’ll see in the pics below) trying to get random weirdness.  First, one with William.  Disclaimer: he didn’t have any hair product in, just so you know.   I joke all the time that he reminds me of Ulysses Everett McGill from the movie “O Brother, Where Are Thou.”  “My hair!”  If you haven’t seen it, then just know that he’s… well… particular.

The next few pictures were taken of the ceiling… exciting, I know.  They were experiments with this ceiling…

I took different shots of the ceiling, opened the shutter speed for a REALLY long time, and began writing letters in the sky… sort of like writing them with sparklers at the 4th of July.  But… you have to write them upside down for reasons that make my brain hurt just thinking about it with how the shutter works, the mirror in the camera, etc, and etc.  All I have to say is… “E” and “R” were pretty hard.  Here it goes… corny, I know.

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 10:18 am

    LOL – fun stuff, Robin. I love it because I’ll probably be doing the same thing in March. Get ready for my corniness. 🙂

  2. kellisblessings permalink
    January 21, 2011 3:45 pm

    Fun experiments! : ) We got my older daughter a new camera for Christmas and she’s been experimenting, too. Fun, isn’t it? : )

  3. January 22, 2011 4:45 am

    Cool photos. Sounds like a great time.

Leave a Reply

