Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions…

February 9, 2011

Yes, I’m quite aware it’s February the something-th.

However, I typically don’t do well with starting something on January 1st anyway.  It seems like it’s February before normalcy returns and we’re back in the swing of things.

Well, we’re never quite “in” the swing of things, but our schedules are somewhat consistent once February kicks in.

So, without further adieu, here are my resolutions for 2011.

1. What else… lose weight. No points for originality there.  I’m happy to say I don’t weigh what I did at the beginning of 2010.  And I CERTAINLY don’t weigh what I did at the beginning of 2009, when I was just a couple of months post-baby #3.

Thankfully I can see myself in a picture or in a video and not cringe too much anymore, although it’s not what I would ultimately like to be.

Okay, this picture was post baby #2, probably the worst picture of me EVER, and the heaviest ever.  But seriously, I HAD JUST HAD ANOTHER HUMAN BEING LIVING OFF OF ME FOR 9 MONTHS!  I always gained ALOT of weight when I was pregnant! And good grief, why was I wearing gray pants?  But, still, I love looking at this and seeing how little Ashlyn was…

Here’s a more recent one… thankfully I’ve gotten smaller and Ashlyn’s gotten bigger…

2.   Venture out more. I’m not a recluse, but I must admit that with 3 kids, sometimes the thought of going places is overwhelming.  At least for the last couple of years.  But the chaos of it all, the fear of someone getting away from me, etc, etc sometimes is too much to think about.  With Joshua approaching 3, things are starting to look doable.  I’m seriously thinking about taking all three to the beach by myself this summer, something I would NEVER do without my husband until now.

3. Accept that my house will probably always look like I have three little ones at home ALL DAY long, because I do.  We eat at home, school at home, play at home.  Really, what kind of life would I live if my home was in pristine condition anyway?

Not to say that I’m giving up all efforts, but I’m really trying to give up all the frustration that I’m sometimes guilty of because my home sometimes looks very anti-Martha Stewartish. But who really likes Martha after all?  Maybe unliking her sounds pretty harsh…I  mean, I appreciate her, but I wouldn’t exactly want her as a best friend for fear that she’d open my oven and gasp at the baked-on stuff or would run her fingers over the tops of my doorways looking for dust.

4. Going for quality instead of quantity.  I mean trying to do a few things well than trying to do many things well.  I want to believe that I am super-Woman and can do it all. 

But I can’t.  At least, not well.

This pertains to blogging, too.  I’ve decided to take my time with posts and have it be something that I’m happy with and that can serve as a creative outlet to me, with the occasional link-up or so.  I must admit, many times I’ve just hurriedly put a picture, did about 5 minutes of editing, and slapped a meme button on it just to have something.  Maybe no-one will read it.  Or care.  But then, who is this for?

 

Happy Wednesday, y’all!

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 10:27 am

    Don’t worry, no one looks good post baby, but you look great now!
    I completely understand about being overwhelmed taking the kids someplace alone. I feel the same way and I only have two kids!
    Are you going to be going to your hubby’s class reunion this summer? It would be great to see you!

  2. February 9, 2011 12:55 pm

    I’m guilty of that, too. The whole hurry-up-and-post-SOMETHING bit. But I am getting better at cutting myself some slack nowadays. If I have nothing I really want to say, I simply don’t. Not much I can do about a lack of inspiration from time to time. And you know what? The world doesn’t stop turning. ; ) I can live with that.

    As for your weight loss, I think you look fabulous! : ) No one, and I mean NO ONE, looks all that great right after giving birth. All I ask of myself these days is to feel comfortable in my own skin. And I’m working on it. : )

  3. February 9, 2011 3:48 pm

    I think you are looking GOOD! 🙂 Let’s face it, who is really Martha besides Martha? and Martha probably hires someone to clean her house. Poser.

  4. February 9, 2011 6:41 pm

    You look great! I like your February resolutions… especially about the quality blogging thing- that is one of mine too 🙂

  5. February 9, 2011 8:23 pm

    I love this. You are looking good. Great resolutions.

  6. February 11, 2011 8:13 am

    Robin! I know you weren’t fishing for compliments, but woman, you are so gorgeous and you make beautiful babies. I think you look great, AND you had three kids! And I think of Martha like I think of Jillian Michaels, they may do what they do best ALL day, but who wants to be that rigid in this one life we are given?! And one more thing, my house is the SAME way!!! 😉

  7. February 12, 2011 11:31 am

    These are wonderful resolutions – I especially like your one about quality over quantity!

Leave a Reply

