Skip to content

Miscellany Monday…

February 14, 2011

Miscellany Monday @ lowercase lettersYawn… is anyone else out there having a hard time waking up today?  I don’t know if it’s the fact that it’s Monday or that it is cold outside that makes me want to stay cozy under my covers, but it’s just HARD for me to get out of bed.  That is, until little feet come pitter-pattering in, hand me my glasses, and start begging my husband and me for “break-tis.”

Anyway, time to sit down and let my fingers do the typing as I think of miscellaneous thoughts and things that I feel might be worthy to put out there in cyberspace… or maybe they’re not worthy.  Whatever.

1. Laundry

That’s not exciting.  But I’m trying something new in my house.  Laundry is constantly strewn about the house, CONSTANTLY.  The main reason is that it is always being washed, being folded, being put away.  Or should I say, it is always in the PROCESS of those three.  Sometimes it gets stuck in one of those modes for a good while.  Let me say that I’ve TRIED to do the FlyLady thing and keep a load or two going everyday.  The idea is to always have a routine and have it going so that you won’t be overwhelmed with the huge task.  The idea is that you finish it to completion each day.

The reality (for me) is that it never really gets completed, hence the front dining room table that we never eat off of always becomes a laundry purgatory where laundry sits and waits for like kinds to pile up before it is taken to the appropriate room.  And there is ALWAYS laundry at that table.

ANYWAY, long explanation to justify what my solution is… I’ve decided NO laundry (unless absolutely necessary, i.e. puke laundry, etc) until Monday.  I’m more of a last minute kind of girl anyway.  To set a goal to have all my laundry done in one day is more doable for me than to do it each day.  There… that was about 200 words on laundry.

2.Chick Flick Alert

Have you seen the movie Julie and Julia?  A must see if you’re a blogger.  But a chick flick, so wait until hubs is out of town or off to bed early to spare him a couple of hours without explosions, etc.

3. Crowd Avoidance

Oh, and Happy Valentine’s Day.  William and I celebrated on Friday, mostly because I abhor crowds and I don’t get caught up on the “things have to be celebrated on THAT day” thing.  But this morning, my hubby left some flowers for me and a card for me (he was up and at ’em before I was).  The eery thing is… the cards that we picked out for each other are almost EXACTLY alike.  Of course, this is our 19th Valentine’s Day together.  Wowsa.

4. The Spring-Breakers Cometh

Speaking of crowds, we have two days left on our Disney passes.  They expire in April.  You know what happens in March and April at Disney???  CROWDS. Lots of them.  Why oh why didn’t we make it there in January?  Our plan is to do Epcot tomorrow with the older two.  I’m not sure if my 4 year old is going to enjoy “Living on the Land” and things like that, but the plan is to do the Magic Kingdom again on the 28th, hopefully avoiding the majority of the Spring-Breakers.

5.Bona Fide

I have my first real photo shoot on Friday.  It’s somebody who has totally agreed to let me be her guinea pig (with her kids) and I’m super excited, nervous, etc, etc.  And this family is just so BEAUTIFUL, so I think it’ll be alot of fun.

Happy Valentine’s Day

(and Happy Monday)!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 10:50 am

    Well, you know I’m doing laundry right now as well. It’s Monday. And yes, I’m having a heck of a time waking up. YAWN.

    I enjoyed Julie & Julia. Great movie.

    Your first photo shoot – HOW EXCITING! Can’t wait to see! You’ll do great!

  2. February 14, 2011 12:21 pm

    LOVED Julie and Julia! 🙂
    Laundry is done pretty much daily around here. No way I can save it all for one day, but I do occasionally skip a day when I can. Kind of like a mini-vacation for me. 😉 I know when I was growing up, Friday was Mom’s laundry day. It was also major cleaning day. I’ve discovered that for my family, it works better if I do a little each day. Typically I start a load before I even go downstairs in the a.m. As long as I do at least two loads, it’s all good.
    I’m sure you’ll do GREAT with the photo shoot! : )

  3. Ana Maria S. permalink
    February 14, 2011 8:26 pm

    Yeah I do a load a day but I am bad about having piles of clean clothes…why can’t they put themselves away? lol
    haha I liked Julie and Julia and Matthew watched it with me…didn’t even have to twist his arm.
    Have a great photo shoot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

