Skip to content

Miscellany Monday

February 28, 2011

Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

1. We went to a worship conference in Dallas at Gateway Church last week and had an amazing time.  Gateway has about 16,000 people and has written numerous worship songs that our church uses in worship each Sunday.  It was really inspiring and was a great time of worship and learning.  Often times, with my husband being a worship pastor, we don’t get a chance to worship together in a congregation without leading it, so it was pretty cool to be able to do that.  Here’s a sample of what Gateway does…

2. One of things that I came away with as far as me, personally, other than an awesome time of spiritual refreshment was the need to work on my mixed voice. Sorry if this bores any non-vocalists out there, but most people have a chest voice, mixed voice, and head voice.  Often in classical singing methods you sing mostly with chest and then switch to head voice once you hit a certain point.  Some people  have UNREAL chest voices (i.e Kelly Clarkson) and they can go full voice pretty stinkin’ high.  I usually sing in chest voice unless it’s a pretty high soprano part, then I’ll switch to head.  Gateway talked about using a mixed voice or a blend at almost all times.   It sounds alot like chest and can fool people, but doesn’t have the detrimental effects that screaming in chest voice can.  I know there are one or two notes I use this on, but that’s about it.  Lots of fun trying to re-train yourself to do something new when you’re thirty-something.  Anyway, here’s an example of learning how to use mixed voice.

3. While we were in Dallas, we went to the Dealey Plaza where JFK was shot.  We visited the 6th floor museum at the book depository.  Very interesting and somber place… more info plus pics to come later this week.

4. The photo shoot that I had with a family a little over a week ago went well.  More details and images to come… I took the pics as a surprise for one of their family members, so I can’t post them yet!

5. Tomorrow we battle the craziness that is the Magic Kingdom in order to use our ticket before it expires in April.  Wish us luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 10:26 am

    Yeah, I’ve always struggled with the mixed voice and because I sing only in church now (among the crowd) I’ve gotten away from working on it.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the pictures from Dallas. I bet that was interesting.

  2. February 28, 2011 12:16 pm

    Glad you had a good time at the conference. I love music but can’t sing much since I got nodules on the vocal cords. But I especially enjoy worship music…and I love singing them with my heart to God.

    Glad you did a good photo shoot.

    Happy Misc. Monday!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

Leave a Reply

