Skip to content

To the girl…

March 2, 2011

To the sweet young lady that I saw waiting by the bus stop today at about 3:30pm…

I saw a well-dressed young lady in a blue shirt, a crisp dollar bill in her hand, waiting patiently at the bus stop.  I saw what seemed to be someone who might have Down Syndrome or Turner Syndrome, but who had the most lovely smile on her face.

I saw a young boy (about 13) ride on his bike past you as you smiled and waved so sweetly at him.  He turned around and gave you a strange look, wondering maybe who you were, what your intentions were, or what you wanted.  Maybe rightfully so, as young kids have been taught not to talk to strangers, not to acknowledge things like that if they don’t know a person.

But I have a feeling you didn’t understand that, young lady.  You just noticed the strange look he gave you.  I saw your face as you turned away from him, so pained and so hurt that he didn’t smile and wave back.  As I saw that, the light turned green and it was time for me to go on my way.

Feeling God’s nudging, I decided to go around the block and drive back by your bus stop.  What I was going to do, I don’t know.  But I came back around on the street to the stop where you had been waiting and…

… you were gone.  I guess your bus came.

So my prayer for you today is that there is someone who would give you an extra big smile today.  Someone would give you a hug and tell you how much they love you.  I pray that someone would let you know how wonderful a person you are because God created you special.

I hope to drive by that same bus stop and see you there someday, if nothing else to simply smile back and say hello.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    March 2, 2011 5:40 pm

    SO sweet Robin:] What a beautiful prayer.

  2. March 2, 2011 6:12 pm

    Way to go, Robin, following the nudging of the Holy Spirit, it’s so easy sometimes to blow it off and keep on our way.

  3. March 2, 2011 6:49 pm

    Awwww Robin, what a priceless post this is! If only we’d all follow those little nudgings when we know we should. I hope you see this young lady again because I know your smile would light up her day. : )

Leave a Reply

