Skip to content

From slave to missionary…

March 17, 2011

Who was St. Patrick?  Here’s a shocker… he ain’t Irish.

Keep reading to find out.  I promise it’s not painful; I’m not really a history buff.

My husband and I were sitting at the breakfast table this morning, asking ourselves this very question.  I had planned on researching it a bit because I knew my 7 year-old (who demands an answer for EVERYTHING) would ask it.  And, since my goal is at least to be one day smarter than him (because I am his teacher, too, after all) I planned on looking it up.

Did y’all have this for breakfast?  Honestly, I woke up too late to make green eggs.

Anyway, as far as researching St. Patty’s Day, my hubby beat me to it.  He consulted the wise sage, knower of all things that is the internet.

So, here’s my Readers’ Digest aka Robin’s truncated version.

He went by another name originally.  He was British and was taken away from his family at a VERY young age to work as a slave in Ireland.  He lived there 10 years and escaped.  He grew up.  He found the Lord.  He became a priest.  And then God called him to minister to the very people he probably despised the most…

… He called him to teach the Irish people about the Lord.

A far cry from green beer and beads, ain’t it?

Now, if you want the story (with dates, names, and all the other things that I always leave out of history lessons) then visit this video.  It’s worth the three minutes for a little education on why in the world we celebrate this day.

As with all holidays, things get skewed, commercialized, and watered-down.  But I am touched by this story of a boy/man who obeyed the Lord and did the very thing he probably wanted to do the least in the world… love his enemies.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 9:24 am

    I looked this up myself years ago and was very surprised to learn the story. Pleasantly so. But it’s amazing how things get skewed, just like you said. Crazy.

  2. March 18, 2011 11:24 am

    I love the story of St. Patrick. My husband calls himself a wealth of useless information so he reminds me of this story every year. No green breakfast although we did have pesto pasta for dinner, does that count??

  3. March 20, 2011 4:15 pm

    I love it. I watch the veggies tales about him. It is funny! Cute photo.

Leave a Reply

