Skip to content

Self portraits

March 23, 2011

How many pics do you remember seeing of your mom when you were younger?

I do remember some, but I don’t remember a huge amount.  In fact, I think if you ask most people, their mom was the one who was usually taking the pictures.   The family albums consist mostly of the kids, some with dad, and a few rare ones of mom scattered about.

I was reminded of this idea when I read Courtney’s post this last week.  It was both inspirational and eye-opening.  I really don’t have alot of pictures of myself.  Some of this is just because I am the one taking the pictures.  But mostly it is because…. I haven’t really liked the way I looked during the last several years.  Even when my husband offered to take some pictures, I’d cringe at the thought.  I do have some pictures of me with our precious babies, but I get disgusted every time I look at them.

But, truth be told, I never really liked pictures of myself, even when I was young and thin.  Why is that?  I know alot of it has to do with self worth and identity trying to be found in appearance and what everyone thought of me.  But my identity should be in Christ alone.  I am beautiful because God made me this way.  I may look at myself and see hair that’s too frizzy, skin that’s too white, a nose that’s too big (my list could go on and on) but I am cursing what God created.  I am saying to Him “what you made isn’t good enough for me.”

Anyway, today I have a few preliminary self portraits trying to get used to the idea.  These are at arm’s length (for a great tutorial, check out this post at Selfie Magic).  Later this week I hope to link up with Elena at Selfie Magic to show some more self portraits if I get the nerve!

These were taken at arms length without a tripod or remote.   I have neither.  I need both.  🙂

Anyway, I’ll show you the okay ones first, and then the rejects.  Some were out of focus, a chin that’s cut off, or are just bad.  It’s quite a feat trying to get the focus on the eyes and not the nose (which sticks out farther and gets most of the focus).

This one is my new profile for Facebook and for the blog.  The black and white hides a multitude of sins…. 🙂  This is also my submission for Black and White Wednesday…
the long road

Here’s the color version…   it’s more “real”

The funniest of all the rejects is this one.  This is my attempt at model eyes.  The idea is to do a slight squint.  There’s a great tutorial of it here.  I didn’t quite accomplish that.  I just look way too confused (plus it’s horribly out of focus).  The thing is…. I naturally have squinty, hooded eyes anyway.  I probably shouldn’t try to do too much.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 9:07 am

    GIRL. That first shot is just stunning! I’ve always thought you were gorgeous – even in high school. I wanted that curly hair and beautiful skin. And you have always been so sweet which made me think you had it goin’ on. 😉 I LOVE that you drew inspiration from my post and jumped in. And your point about saying to God that what He made isn’t good enough…. SPOT ON. I love it, Robin.

  2. March 23, 2011 9:16 am

    GORGEOUS!! Love it! I again, would NEVER attempt this ~ you are beautiful inside and out!!

  3. Amie permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:17 am

    Love the pictures. You are beautiful!!!!
    God made you perfect….you wouldn’t have such gorgeous kids if you weren’t gorgeous yourself 🙂
    Miss you guys!!!!

  4. Linda Miller permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:19 am

    Robin, those were always the same thoughts I had about being in pics. I would cringe if Rusty grabbed the camera…which while it was rare…his timing was always awful….I would have my hair in a bun and no make up on, smeared mascara. But you know what I realized is that when I have left this earth, my family will not care what I looked like in those pics….they will just be glad for the memories they will have. So, bravo for you….keep moving in that direction. You look great!
    Linda

  5. March 23, 2011 9:27 am

    I’ve always thought you were pretty and this proves it! Love the first shot in both bw and color!

  6. March 23, 2011 11:22 am

    Beautiful!

  7. March 23, 2011 1:49 pm

    I, too, am always behind the camera. And typically it is by choice. I’ve never liked photos of me and think “Is that how others see me?” It makes me cringe. 😦

    YOU, dear lady, are positively stunning! Your hair is beautiful, your pretty eyes hold so much wisdom, and it is obvious that you are also a lovely person on the INSIDE. That is far more important than physical beauty, any way you look at it. : )

  8. Kaylee permalink
    March 23, 2011 1:54 pm

    GORGEOUS! The pictures and the model…:)

  9. March 23, 2011 2:41 pm

    You are so beautiful! I posted mine the other day 🙂 Felt a little silly doing model eyes, but had fun doing it! 🙂 That first shot is stunning~!

  10. March 23, 2011 4:12 pm

    Gorgeous photos. Love them all, but those first two are amazing!

  11. March 23, 2011 7:52 pm

    I noticed your new profile pic immediately. I love it! You (and Courtney) have always been beautiful, but it’s taking a post like this (and Courtney’s) to get me to realize that I am, too. That even feels weird to type!
    But, as a Christian, I KNOW that God doesn’t make mistakes. I know it’s not God doesn’t make mistakes EXCEPT for that Susan person. I even took some horrible pics of myself today and resisted the urge to delete them all!
    It’s definitely a process!
    I’ve always admired the amount of body your hair has, by the way!

  12. March 24, 2011 2:41 pm

    WOW, girl! I LOVE the first one!Even the color one, though you think that the B&W removed all the imprefections!
    You’re so radiant in this one! Girl, you nailed it!

Leave a Reply

