Skip to content

Insanity

March 25, 2011

I’ve been reading articles about the beauty queen who was stripped of her title because she gained weight.  She has since sued and has regained her crown.

She was told to lay off the tacos.  She was told she was in breach of contract because she gained weight.  They had other reasons, too, but all of them sounded pretty petty and contrived to me.

They sited a photo shoot of the poor girl in a bikini and said that the photo was unusable because the girl was too out of shape.  Here’s the photo:

Really?

First of all, as an amateur photographer, I can say this is a horrid pose for a bikini shot.  Plus, if you needed to Photoshop it for skin retouching, it’s not that hard.  And my Photoshop skills are minimal at best.  But whatever.

Second, she’s a size 2.  Um, fat?

Third, she looks like a teenager. A normal, THIN teenage girl.  She is not out of proportion or artificially enhanced.  She looks refreshingly normal.

This is what us moms are up against with our daughters.  A society that tells a size 2 17 year-old she’s fat.  This is why it’s so hard for us women to feel good about ourselves and to teach our daughters they are beautiful.  Good grief!

It’s insanity.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 10:42 am

    I’m relatively thin and if she’s fat, then I’m obese! That is ridiculous. What kind of message does that send to our youth. I believe in being healthy…but come on now!

  2. March 25, 2011 10:44 am

    It IS insanity. I agree, the angle is the problem. Not the girl. I pray my daughter never wants to be in pageants of any kind because I feel like it’s nothing but a continuous climb to achieve society’s approval. Yuck.

  3. March 25, 2011 12:21 pm

    This INFURIATES me! How on earth are we supposed to raise our daughters with a healthy self-image when this sort of craziness surrounds us? I just showed this to my 13 year old and told her the story. Her reaction? SHOCK. She’s too WHAT???

    Good for her. Maybe I’m doing something right after all. ; )

  4. March 25, 2011 1:36 pm

    Bad photo does not equal fat. Besides, sequined bikinis are hardly flattering to anyone.
    That is insanity. You’re right.

  5. March 25, 2011 5:26 pm

    Oh my word! First of all, she’s like 12 yrs old! Thank God, He only made one Jillian Michaels on this earth, and I am so glad I am not her! I hate working out!! 🙂 My sisters and I were JUST talking about weight and how different we all are. It’s laughable. We can weigh the exact same and one is rail thin and the other is pregnant. It’s called muscle and different body proportions. I am so glad we are all different!!

  6. March 29, 2011 5:30 am

    Awhile ago, a buddy sent me a link that blatantly showed what’s wrong with some people. It was some higher up in the fashion industry raving about a young actress, and how her body really showed off the ideal for physical perfection.

    The actress in question is 12.

    I’m glad that she got her crown back. I want to condemn pageant organizations and the like but I think a bigger part of the problem is that people buy into this stuff. I think that for every woman who is standing up and saying, “This is not right” there are 100 others who aren’t questioning or thinking, just agreeing, “OK, well, I guess I don’t really need to eat breakfast and lunch…”

Leave a Reply

