Skip to content

I am beautiful…

March 26, 2011


TWO WARNINGS:  This is a little deep for me.  Plus, there’s a snake at the bottom of the post, so be warned if you’re squeamish!

Um, those are pretty hard words to write.  “I am beautiful.”  They seem a bit vain.  Conceited.  And, for me, quite laughable.  I really don’t think I’m beautiful most of the time.

You see, I’ve had people tell me I was pretty most of my life.  But I couldn’t accept those compliments.  I heard them, but I know I can’t recall exact statements.

But I do remember the negative ones… the ones criticizing my hair, my body.  Other things.  Those are potent words.  Those words penetrate your heart and never seem to be erased.  I remember Beth Moore talking about potent words.  They cannot be overcome by other potent words.  Someone telling you that you are fat can not be canceled out by another person telling you that you are beautiful.  As much as we try, we cannot shake off the negative stuff; likewise, it seems like we cannot absorb the positive stuff so easily.

What overcomes potent words?  Omnipotent words.  Who God says you are.   You are His beautiful creation.  You are treasured.  God has been dealing with me alot lately with all this, not only through my own studies but through blogs I’ve been reading.

There’s an AWESOME meme right now through Elena’s blog meme “Selfie Saturdays” with inspiration taken from Courtney’s blog post last Saturday.  The idea is to link up pics of yourself holding a sign saying “I am beautiful.”  You can also link up to Jill’s Flickr Group if you have an account…

This was hard.

Because often times I do not  feel I am beautiful.  Plus, I can tell you alot of reasons I don’t like the picture below, but here it is.  A main inspiration for this is my daughter.  I want her to love her curls, to love who God created her to be.  How can she love herself if she sees me constantly criticizing myself?  I reminds me of that cheesy 80’s drug commercial where the kid is caught by his dad with some drugs in his room.  The dad says “where did you learn this?”  He says, “You, Dad, I learned it by watching you.”  Okay, as corny as that commercial was, it’s true.

My daughter will look to me to teach her how to love herself.  She will look to me to be an example of what it means to be a woman.

Without further adieu, here’s today’s submission for the “I am beautiful” link up.  Mess ups are to follow.

Here’s a shot where I just couldn’t get it aimed right.  Plus, I forgot there was a plumeria bush (they’re without blooms this time of year) in my way.  Plus this shot is therapeutic for me… I’m showing my thighs in a picture for all to see!

Okay, the next shot has a story.  I originally wanted to work on these shots on Thursday.  I had my blanket set up, I went in front of the white shed (okay, a bit in need of a power washing, but whatever) and planned to take shots.   Plus I wished this had turned out because I was having a much better hair day.  Anyway, I walked by our black water hose and all the sudden part of it started moving.  A black snake had, I guess, thought it was its mama or something and cleverly disguised itself.  So, next is the shot of me, then at the bottom is the snake who was  keeping his/her eye on me.  I’m VERY afraid of snakes, so this shot was taken with my 50 mm fixed lens at a distance.  Then cropped heavily…

AND HERE COMES THE SNAKE….

24 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 1:07 pm

    Good for you! And great shots, too! I really like the last one of you!
    Okay, you and Courtney have good peer pressured me into it. I’m going to see how to do a timer shot on my camera. . .

  2. March 26, 2011 2:24 pm

    You are beautiful and I love your curls. Mine are not natural and I have always wanted curlier hair. You look so calm there despite a snake being not very far away.

  3. March 26, 2011 2:56 pm

    LOVE the outtakes. 😉 The first shot is gorgeous! SO very glad you are doing this. Makes my heart happy. 🙂

  4. Kimberly permalink
    March 26, 2011 4:56 pm

    You are one of the few truly beautiful people that I have met in my lifetime. When I first met you, I was imtimidated by how pretty you were. I was a young girl struggling with my weight, my hair, my complexion, trying to become party of a group that included you. This was scary, because most of the girls I have known who LOOKED as beautiful as you were actually hateful, ugly-acting people. Then I got to actually speak to you. Sweet, compassionate, gentle, thoughtful. You were beautiful both inside and out. That is what makes you truly beautiful, your heart. All these years later, that is still how I remember you, actually. Beautiful. Oh, and by the way, my three boys, who are being nosey over my shoulder here, thought the pictures were beautiful, but they especially loved the snake!

  5. March 26, 2011 5:17 pm

    Very well said. Everything you mentioned has ran through my head about a million times. All these things are what I was feeling when I read Courtney’s post last week & when I was tearfully sending her a reply to that post. Fortunately I was able to get it all out at that time & not dig back into that hole while I put my post together this week. 🙂 This project has sure been like a good therapy session. You really are beautiful!! I know it is hard to say it to yourself- I felt ridiculous writing out my note & even sillier smiling at the camera- & still not confident enough to show my husband all the shots I took. But if we all continue to work through this together- maybe we will at least feel better about it with each passing week. And most importantly – not raise daughters with these feelings of self doubt.

  6. March 26, 2011 7:11 pm

    you are beautiful and i love all of these photos!

  7. Diane permalink
    March 26, 2011 7:29 pm

    Yes, you are. Inside and out!

  8. Kelly-Ann permalink
    March 26, 2011 8:01 pm

    You are beautiful 😀

    Thank you for the comment and yeah I had to cover the zit hahaha… it’ll clear up so I can do the “I am beautiful” post!

    Wonderful post! It’s great and you have lovely kids as well

  9. March 26, 2011 9:14 pm

    I’ve always thought you were beautiful – it’s funny….I’ve always been a pretty girl but the criticism is what sticks with you. I have very full lips – the kind that a lot of people will pay for…and my sister would always make fun of my lips (as would the rest of the my family…she was the worst). I’ve been self conscious about them as a result. But we’ve got to embrace what we’ve got and you are beautiful!

  10. March 31, 2011 10:12 pm

    I love your shots! You really are so beautiful! I think your best features are your eyes and your hair! You just have that look….love it!

  11. April 9, 2011 3:46 pm

    You already know how much I love your photos!

    This post is awesome! So proud to know you!

    I laughed about the snakes – because ugh I hate them!!!

    Praising God for who you are in Him!!!!

    HUGS!
    Jill

  12. ostranderblog permalink
    April 10, 2011 4:41 am

    I love your photos and it spoke to me even with the cheesy 80’s commercial… our daughters do watch us.
    You are beautiful, and it seems inside out – your daughter is lucky to have you wishing to strive to teach her that beauty is to be embraced not picked about.

  13. Halie permalink
    April 10, 2011 10:04 am

    This has been so much of an eye opener. Yes, you are beautiful! Dropping by from the I am beautiful project.

  14. January 19, 2013 7:43 am

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and
    let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  15. June 10, 2013 5:01 pm

    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    facebook group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  16. April 19, 2014 2:38 am

    Wow, amazing weblog structure! How lengthy have you
    been running a blog for? you make running a blog glance easy.
    The full look of your web site is magnificent, as well as
    the content material!

  17. April 22, 2014 11:41 am

    What’s up to every one, the contents present at
    this web site are actually amazing for people experience, well, keep up the
    good work fellows.

  18. April 22, 2014 1:24 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my
    own blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive.

    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  19. April 22, 2014 7:13 pm

    Thanks , I’ve just been searching for info about this subject for a long time and yours
    is the greatest I’ve discovered till now. But, what concerning the conclusion?
    Are you certain in regards to the source?

  20. April 22, 2014 10:02 pm

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before ending I am reading this great paragraph to improve my knowledge.

  21. April 23, 2014 5:15 am

    If you wish for to increase your know-how only keep visiting this site and be
    updated with the most up-to-date news update posted here.

Trackbacks

  1. The gift of insight… «
  2. The gift of insight… | Playdough In My Carpet
  3. 私嫌いを卒業!自分を好きになって恋愛を上手く進める術 - ひまひまつぶし

Leave a Reply

