Skip to content

Bokeh Debacle

April 2, 2011

Okay, so I procrastinated again.

We’ve been so busy this week that I didn’t get around to trying to do my bokeh selfie until noon.  We had a funeral this morning and then hubs stayed after, so I was trying to get a shot with kids around (and still no tripod or remote… they are somewhere in transit, but on their way!).

My idea was to read in front of window and perhaps light coming in with neat shapes, etc.  I have one HUGE bokeh shape with the window.  I don’t know if that qualifies or not.  I’m really not adept at getting bokeh, but sometimes it just shows up.  I understand the narrow depth of field, etc, but trying to do that and get the focus right and get in the picture… well, let’s just say I’m struggling.  Here are some selfies, anyway. 🙂

Out of focus, right?  I know.  My focus is all wrong.  The basket is in focus.  But this is only week three of me trying to get in the pictures, and next week I won’t have the excuse of no tripod and remote.

The next one was better, but not alot of bokeh.  But it’s kind of cute that my youngest son made his little appearance in it.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 3:15 pm

    I really love the second one and the first one conceptually is really good even if the focus is off.

  2. April 2, 2011 3:36 pm

    I love the second image, even though it doesn’t have bokeh. And i love your son in the picture too, it’s just so real. I probably should have explained how to get bokeh shots. basically anything small, far in the background that has light passing through it will create a bokeh. Like leaves or flowers or candles or random lights… anything that has small parts of darkness/light/darkness/light intermingled.
    Like here: http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=bokeh

  3. April 2, 2011 4:23 pm

    I like the “reality” of both shots a lot!

  4. April 2, 2011 4:53 pm

    love these so natural love your curly hair.

  5. April 2, 2011 7:23 pm

    Both shots are so soft and pretty to look at. The second one is so sweet!

  6. April 2, 2011 9:00 pm

    I love both of these! And I also love that book. ; ) The movie is one of my faves.

  7. April 3, 2011 12:43 am

    hey with no tripod or remote these are awesome! I’m excited for you that you will be getting them soon!

  8. April 3, 2011 1:05 pm

    Those came out gorgeous! Great job!!!!!!!!

  9. April 4, 2011 10:43 am

    I love that both shots are just YOU. and so happy you linked up!

Leave a Reply

