Skip to content

Blog with an identity crisis…

April 12, 2011

I know alot of things that I do are probably blogging no-no’s.  My blog isn’t really a family blog, a photography blog, a homeschooling blog.  Maybe if I was better organized I would have separate blogs that would serve each of these purposes.  But I’m not.  So, it doesn’t.

I am, however a mom.  A wife.  A homeschool teacher.  Someone who loves to take pictures.  A child of God.  And I guess this blog reflects that.  I hope it reflects that.  It does have an identity crisis.  It is an online diary of sorts, sort of meant to be for me, but also meant to be a connection to the outside world for this mom who is at home more than not.

Why all this rambling?

As with anything else in the world, we are tempted to compare ourselves.  I’ve been comparing myself alot.

Our looks.

Our abilities.

Our accomplishments.

When we do that, we often see ourselves as falling short.  Sure, you might excel in one area.  But there’s always someone who is “better” than you.  But what you don’t see, perhaps, is that person also has perceived weaknesses about themselves.  Is this what God wants for us?  To constantly be comparing ourselves, only continually falling short of some “ideal?”

Even this blog, which is supposed to be cathartic and creative, is sometimes one more failure for me.  I can’t consistently post because I feel like other things have to take precedence, for the most part.  But then I feel bad because I can’t be more organized and plan these things out better, planning posts a couple of days before-hand and getting it all accomplished.  Some women seem to be able to do that so well.

So this morning I was in a funk.  One of those nothing-is-going-right-because-I-can’t-get-my-act-together funks.  Trying to get my to-do lists accomplished, even at the expense of being impatient with myself, my kids.  I even made time with the Lord this morning but felt like things were still being done on my own strength.  Then I read this post today from a blog in my reader… Rachel wrote the letter to herself, but I really could have inserted myself in it.  Of course, we deal with different struggles in life, but the words she wrote about her perspective just resonated so much with  me.

The point, my friend, is that God created you.  You are unique.  You are not meant to be a carbon copy of anyone else.  You’re not meant to be a paper doll.  Live every moment.  Today is a gift.  Stop worrying about unrealistic expectations.

 

Sweet Shot Day

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 3:08 pm

    I am so thankful we are “fearfully and wonderfully made”. We’re custom made for Him. Uniquely designed. I appreciate this post and your insight.

  2. April 12, 2011 4:05 pm

    I think we ALL struggle with comparing ourselves to others…I know that I battle it on a daily basis. It’s hard not to. MAke sure you check out the post I’m writing tomorrow. It goes hand in hand with everything you’ve just written….

    Hope you have a better day today!! Hugs!!

  3. April 12, 2011 4:19 pm

    Thanks for the perfect reminder!

  4. kimmyskids permalink
    April 12, 2011 5:41 pm

    Sweet photo and great words! I, too, get in funks and don’t feel up to some standard. It’s good to remember our real source of significance.

  5. April 12, 2011 9:44 pm

    I feel you! I have been in a funk this week because of my new schedule at work. I have fallen behind on blogging and next week isn’t looking too hot either. You just have to prioritize. Your “real” life, kids, time to yourself…is way more important. and yes, I know that’s a big “duh!”… 🙂

  6. April 13, 2011 9:00 am

    Fantastic reminder, Robin! For me, when blogging seems like a job rather than a hobby then I usually step back & take a break. I don’t want it to be something I HAVE to do but something I feel inspired to do. I tend to do a lot of my blogging on the weekend and get things scheduled for the coming week. Mike is home and he can entertain the kids while I have some ‘me’ time. Doesn’t always work but that’s the plan. And not everyone has it altogether. Appearances are deceiving. In the end, it’s easier to be ourselves – the person God intended us to be.

  7. April 13, 2011 9:25 am

    thanks for the sweet message. The truth? I deal with that comparison trap all the time. In fact, just yesterday, I was standing on my sweet neighbors deck (the one who helped me clean — where I had to write about letting go of pride) and confessing to her just how much I compare and how easy it is to become discontent.

    I don’t want my identity to come from my ideas of identity. But that is so hard in a world that quantifies and qualifies everything.

    I have to look to Jesus first.

    Lovely post for me — thank YOU for redirecting my heart today.

    Rachel

  8. April 13, 2011 11:08 am

    Oh my, totally been there a time or two (actually way more than that). It should be your happy place- where you feel you can be you. It’s normal to get in the funk & start comparing yourself. We all do it. But please know that we are all here to support you in what you are posting. I started my first blog as a way to post things going on with the family. Then I started a mommy blog, fashion blog, political blog, homeschooling blog & stuck with that for a while- with no “success”. It wasn’t until I found 1 photography challenge & I was hooked. I know nothing about my title says photography & that’s okay for now. I am still fashion loving & I do homeschool my kids- so it works- it’s who I am. I just got inspired one day to pursue something that I have always admired & jumped out there to give it a try finally. I am so happy I did- the community has been so supportive & kind. I have met some of the most amazing women- like yourself. It has helped me with things I never thought I would tackle on a personal level (selfies in particular) I think sometimes it’s more about making the connections & the content follows. It doesn’t have to be one thing all the time- I think people enjoy a variety sometimes.

  9. April 13, 2011 2:20 pm

    What a great post Robin! Thanks for sharing. I think we all struggle with comparisons from time to time. But we’re all unique and bring something new and beautiful to the table and that’s what counts, right?

  10. April 13, 2011 6:55 pm

    Ah, Robin! I kicked facebook to the curb and don’t see your posts anymore! I finally confirmed my email subscription. Hopefully I will get your updated posts now. The post you shared from Rachel is so true. Maybe you should hear that (at least from my eyes) you are seen as a gentle spirited mom, a wife that loves her husband, you love your babies and care so much you take it upon yourself to school them and incorporate the Lord in their days, you seem to enjoy baking and you share it with your kids, you love Jesus and so does your awesome hubby, you try very hard to take care of yourself and your home (which is gorgeous, even with mount washmore on the table. I always loved that btw), you are transparent and honest, and did I mention beautiful as can be?! Everyone doesn’t have time to blog every day. Everyone has time for different things in general. I don’t sew or knit, you do. I love to cook, you love to bake. You play tea parties and salon AND coral two little boys that are full of energy.

    I see my friends that sew, and paint, and decorate. I have dust balls in corners, my walls need to be painted, my carpets need to be cleaned…how will I ever find the time for these things? I do my best. Most of the time 🙂

    Thanks for being honest. It’s the best way to be! xo

Leave a Reply

