Skip to content

The circus is in town…

April 16, 2011

Today’s selfie is less serious than the previous ones.  We were charged with the task of combining a selfie with “magic tricks” or experimenting with photoshop, layers, etc, etc.  I saw Elena’s juggling oranges and immediately thought of juggling my kids.  I do it all the time symbolically 🙂  so why not do it literally!  This was alot of fun… each kid had fun jumping up and down while I took pictures.  Unfortunately Ashlyn’s picture has a bit too much sunlight on it, but it was still usable!

I took a picture of me in clown makeup, added this free backdrop, added the clown wig from here (I didn’t have one and couldn’t find one).  I then opened each of the kids pictures and selected them using the polyagonal (I’m too lazy to look up the spelling) lasso tool.  I then used Pioneer Woman’s Old West? action, added a texture, and downloaded a circus font.

Just some background info… our last name is Sallee (pronounced Suh-lee).  For several years, we’ve been calling ourselves Cirque du Sallee, playing off of the fun acrobatic/artsy circus group Cirque du Soleil.  Sometimes William will call home and say “how’s the circus today?”

Here it is… Cirque du Sallee…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2011 12:31 pm

    That is AWESOME! : ) What fun you must have had creating this! I think it deserves to be printed, framed and given a place of honor under the Sallee BIG TOP! ; )

  2. April 16, 2011 1:44 pm

    I love it! That is so creative – especially the juggling of your kids! I think it’s so happy that your family is called “Cirque du Sallee.” 🙂

  3. April 17, 2011 12:21 am

    Haha, this is cool

  4. April 17, 2011 9:12 am

    I LOVE THIS! So bummed I couldn’t find time to squeeze this in this weekend.

  5. April 17, 2011 3:41 pm

    So creative- great job!

  6. April 17, 2011 5:34 pm

    I love the creativity behind this shot – awesome job!

  7. April 17, 2011 7:05 pm

    This is so cool!

  8. April 18, 2011 3:45 pm

    This turned out so great!!! LOve it!!!

  9. April 18, 2011 6:15 pm

    This is awesome! I barely recognized you! And i love how you went all out with the background, and incorporating your kids into it and the wig and the make up! This is just great!

    Also the fact that it’s an inside family joke makes it just that much better!
    You should frame it!

Trackbacks

  1. Selfie Magic Best of The Best Selfies

Leave a Reply

