Skip to content

Miscellany Monday

May 2, 2011

Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

Miscellaneous, random thoughts abound.

1.  I’ve been gone for two weeks.  Well, from the blogosphere, that is.  If you’re reading this, thank you.  I am still here, just busy.

2.  I homeschool.  Last year we didn’t take a summer break.  We will this year, so I’m trying to decide what needs to be done for this school year to call it successful and cross it off the list.  I need a summer break.

3. I really want to get a Coppola Keratin Treatment for my hair.  It’s a cure for the summer frizzies.  It ain’t cheap.  I keep waiting for the half off Groupon to reappear.

4. One disadvantage of your children being able to spell… you can no longer spell out words in some sort of secret code between you and the hubs.  “Do you want to get I-C-E-C-R-E-A-M?”   Nathan: “We’re getting ICE CREAM???!!!!!”

5.  Oh yes… I’ve been sick for two weeks, too.  Nasty sinus infection.

6.  The exercising must commence… again.

7.  I had alot of fun couponing yesterday.  I do it a little bit, but nothing as crazy as the Extreme Couponing people on TLC.  C-Razy.  Who needs hundreds of bottles of mustard?  But I do have enough toothpaste to probably last us until Joshua’s permanent teeth come in.  Yes, he’s the 2 year old.

8.  As I’m typing this, just heard that Osama Bin Laden has met his Maker.

9.  I made a killer meatloaf this weekend, courtesy of Pioneer Woman.  Even the kids liked it.

10.   Got a book from the library, Deceptively Delicious.  Written by Jerry Seinfeld’s wife.  You puree stuff and hide it in your kid’s food (read: veggies).  Let’s be honest… I don’t really like veggies, so I was looking forward to adding some good stuff to my food, too.  I started out with butternut squash, which I had never eaten in my life.  Got a bunch of it free from a neighbor who is a farmer.  Upon cutting in half and scraping the seeds out, my hands swelled up, starting itching, and my skin was tight and red.  Evidently I’m allergic and am finding this out 36 years into my life.

Happy Monday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Maria S. permalink
    May 2, 2011 9:14 am

    Robin,
    I totally LOL’d because I can relate to the not being able to spell things out anymore in front of Nikolas and occasionally Jonathan.

    I need to get back to the gym too! I haven’t been since Good Friday! Stupid cold and busyness of overcommitments.

    Ahhh Couponing! LOVE it. I concur that even though we have a decent stockpile of all kinds of personal hygiene, healthcare, & household goods, pantry staples & such; it is no where near what the people on Extreme Couponing have 😉

    Ooh PW Meatloaf, I have not made it yet, but good to know that it came out great.

    Not cool about your unexpected allergy but I am really looking forward to cooking “deceptively” too once we start receiving our weekly share of organic fruits/veg this year…mmm…zucchini brownies, carrots, and spinach pureed and sneakily added to meat sauces, cake mixes, & loaves of bread and I’m sure I will be trying all kinds of new veg I have never had before like kale, swiss chard, & acorn squash.

    I hope your sinus infection clears up soon! 🙂

  2. May 2, 2011 9:22 am

    Scary about the allergic reaction! Good that you found out that way as opposed to actually ingesting it.
    I’ve been gone from blogging for a couple of weeks, too. Something about this time of year, I suppose. The kids had spring break last week and we’ve just been busy loafing. 😉
    I was out of the gym the entire month of April. 😦 Between running Brie to her doc appointments and than finally getting Eli here, it was a crazy few weeks! Plus I somehow managed to get the ball of my right food totally irritated and sore and was barely able to put weight on it for two weeks. I guess the time off was needed because it’s all better now.
    If you wanna sneak healthy stuff into your meatloaf, just add a can of V8 when you’re mixing it up. Full serving of veggies! : )

  3. May 2, 2011 12:19 pm

    Ah! What a reaction! I made chili once with green anaheim chilies and my hands did the exact same thing. I can eat them, but apparently I can’t roast and peel them with my bare hands. Hopefully your hands felt better soon!

    Happy Monday!

  4. May 2, 2011 3:30 pm

    Too funny about the spelling. Hope you are feeling better. Glad you are back. Enjoy your Summer break.

  5. May 2, 2011 4:14 pm

    Boo! I have been so sick, too! No fun! And thank goodness you didn’t eat the squash! What would have happened then?! Welcome back 🙂

  6. May 3, 2011 11:21 pm

    Never made a Pioneer Woman recipe I didn’t like and I have the Deceptively Delicious cookbook. I like it and make things from it often. We all eat veggies here but you can never have enough, in my opinion. And if you can sneak them into dessert, why not!!! Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

