Skip to content

Passion

May 4, 2011

Ooh la la.

Well, I’m not really going to talk about passion, aka eros love, but passion in the everyday sense.  I know I am drawn to passionate people.  I love people who are passionate about what they are doing.

I know people who are passionate about cooking.

Passionate about fishing.

Passionate about helping children.

Passionate about…

The list goes on and on.  And as I admire those people, I find myself wanting to be just like them.  Passionate about all those things (well, except fishing… that’s fun every once in a while, but having a passion for fish just isn’t in my future).

When we admire the passion that “those people” have in their lives, we (at least, I do) strive to be like them.  Or chastize ourselves for not being them.  I’m not as good as Beatrice at sewing.   I’m not as good as Mavis at piano.  I’m not as good as Ruby at being silly with kids. (Do you like how I picked names of geriatric women there?).

Anyway, I was thinking about this while listening to music.  I like ALOT of music.  Some of it is not necessarily the most “churchy” thing to listen to.  I do love contemporary Christian music.  It sings about the Lord and is uplifting to the soul.  It’s probably what I listen to most, other than kid tunes in the car.  My first love in Christian music is gospel, though.  Here’s an example of passionate singing from the Kurt Carr Singers.

But there are artists that are secular that have also made me take notice, that make me stop in my tracks.  They sing passionately.   With everything.  It’s raw emotion, even though sometimes the subject matter isn’t the best.  I think of Alanis Morissette.  Um, some of her lyrics are, well,… but I like her voice because she just sings.  There’s a cry sometimes.  There’s technically beautiful moments, then there’s raw moments where technique goes out the window.  Modern day… maybe AdeleVienna Teng.  I also think of the song from Dreamgirls “And I am Telling You.”  I like both Jenifer Holiday’s version and Jennifer Hudson’s.  Passionate, soul-wrenching.

Am I that passionate for the things that God has placed in my heart?  Am I living out the life that God wants me to have?  Am I just going through life, doing my duties or am I passionately pursuing him.  I love to sing… alot.  My favorite is when I’m in the car alone, singing as passionately as possible.

My prayer today for me (and for you) is that we would live our lives passionately for the Lord… for what He’s called us to do.  He wants it all, the good, the bad, the ugly.

“From now on if you listen obediently to the commandments that I am commanding you today, love God, your God, and serve him with everything you have within you, he’ll take charge of sending the rain at the right time ….  ” Deuteronomy 11:13-14

the long road

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 8:53 am

    Ohhhhh good post. GRRReat verse.

  2. May 4, 2011 9:51 am

    Incredible post – I’ll be praying for the same thing – that we each live our lives passionately for the Lord!

  3. May 4, 2011 10:46 pm

    Beautiful post, Robin! Got my wheels spinning…. and great black & white shot.

  4. May 25, 2011 6:53 am

    I hate deleting pictures, but i love looking through them. I always find one I forgot i had

Leave a Reply

