Skip to content

Digging in the Archives…

May 5, 2011

Digital cameras…. love them.  Mostly because you can snap, snap, snap away and delete what stinks and keep what’s good.

At least that’s the idea anyway.  My problem is deleting photos.  It reminds me of going through baby clothes.  I keep things that are sentimental and get rid of the rest.  The problem is that when it’s too fresh, EVERYTHING seems sentimental.  So I give myself a bit of time and then go through the clothes.  If something makes me smile or if I have a DEFINITE happy memory of my child in it, I hang on to it.

Saying all that to say… it’s time to go through old photos and delete what stinks.  If I was using film I’m sure I’d have a whole lot less pics.  But why do I feel guilty about deleting old photos, even if they stink?  Am I deleting memories?  Do I REALLY need 4 photos of the same pose?

So, I’m resolving (this summer, after school is done) to spend each day going through one month of digital photos, from March 2006 to now (when I got our first point and shoot.  I was a little late in the game as always).  There are ALOT.

Anyway, just browsing through old photos I found this treasure from October 2009.  My sweet little Ashlyn… I just love her little shorter curls in this one.  Notice the  red-eye… that’s something I don’t think about anymore owning my DSLR.  Anyway… here’s the before photo from my archives.

And here’s the after.  I adjusted levels a bit, ran the MCP Mini Fusion action, then Coffee Shop Baby Powder action to clean up some crumbs and brighten the eyes.  I also did some cloning stamp and healing brush work to remove the countertop.

Happy Thursday to y’all!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 11:30 am

    Nice work on the skin tones!

  2. May 5, 2011 1:02 pm

    I have the hardest time deleting photos. And I started shooting in RAW last year so my files are enormous! It’s really scary how fast i can fill up a hard drive. I like your idea of doing it a month at a time. I think it’s a great plan!

  3. May 5, 2011 3:23 pm

    I do the same thing. I don’t know why I feel the need to keep every single photo i take. I’ve been trying to be better about that. GREAT edit! Such a cutie!

  4. epgiddens permalink
    May 5, 2011 3:48 pm

    What a cutie! Such a nice, clean edit!

    Good luck cleaning up your old photos! I do the same thing. 🙂

  5. May 5, 2011 6:00 pm

    Great edit! Love her eyes!

  6. May 6, 2011 8:56 am

    Such a sweet little face! : ) Love that smile!

    I, too, keep ’em all. I finally started sorting them into files according to date/occasion and storing them on discs because my computer was getting so slow from being bogged down with them. I confess that I don’t take as many pictures as I should though. 😦 I find that when I’m constantly holding a camera, I’m not really enjoying the moment as much as I should. I feel distracted by it. But my daughter just bought me a really nice camera for Mother’s Day (I detest my old digital! Can’t take a decent pic with it to save my life!) so I have a feeling I may develop more of a love for snapping shots. : )

  7. May 8, 2011 10:50 pm

    Great edit. I have a hard time deleting photos too.

  8. May 10, 2011 5:22 pm

    I have the SAME issue with my photo’s. I love that I can delete the ones that aren’t any good…but I have this whole, “what if I regret NOT keeping this photo” issue. 🙂 Beautiful before and after!

Leave a Reply

